Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Sioux City, IA
Students enrolled: 550

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 5

Posted May 29, 2012
- a student
Heelan is the best school in so many ways! It is a great place to be at! Whether you are participating in athletics, learning chemistry, or socializing at a school dance, it is an outstanding experience! I was blessed to go to Heelan! My mom had just as good of a time when she was there in the '70's! I can't wait to see the new Heelan High building and see how it touches the community even more! My bottom line is that Heelan is worth every penny!

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 3

Posted May 02, 2011
- a community member
There is a misconception out there that Heelan is better than the local public schools. Not true. As a teacher who has taught students who went to school in both environments, I can tell you that academically the schools are equal. And, there are just as many negative influences at the Catholic school; they are just not as well known. Finally, Heelen recruits for sports, so the average athlete has little chance to play high school sports, whereas in the public schools he or she actually has a chance to play.


Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a student
I am a Junior at Bishop Heelan High School and it is a great school to be at. Everyone is friendly with everyone. No one is left out of anything!Going to school here is very rewarding with the teacher support and friendly students. It seems everyone in the school has a place that they belong to. Miracle Makers, A.W.A.R.E., Student Council, all the athletics and other extra-curricular activities really make you feel like you belong.

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 1

Posted December 31, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
everthing including sports is all politics.... it all has to do with what your last name is and what kind of car you drive.


Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
I am so impressed with the quality principals, teachers, staff and academics at all the Bishop Heelan Catholic pre-K, elementary, middle and high schools!!

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
A great school to send your kids to!

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 5

Posted July 26, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 3

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
I am a 1970 graduate of Heelan, and have had 3 of my children graduate from this school so far. It is a school that encourages students to take college prep classes but its students would benefit with the availability of strong vocational/technical courses too. Heelan has a very strong sports program with much parent backing. It would be wonderful to be able to say that about the fine arts program, however, the teachers in that area are wonderful. The school's focus seems to have moved from that of a strictly Catholic education system to one which embraces those of all faiths.

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School 5

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
Bishop Heelan has very a sound academic program, offering numerous honors programs across its curriculum. It has a great combination of large school offerings, with a small school size and atmostphere. With a 9-12 enrollment of approximately 520 students, Bishop Heelan offers outstanding class sizes and a very accomodating teacher/student ratio. It's extra-curricular programs are annually near the top of the state in wide range of activities. Bishop Heelan has a very involved parent population who meet on a regular basis with Administration to improve communication throughout the system. Bishop Heelan offers the Siouxland area a top notch faith-based, educational opportunity that I would strongly recommend to anyone wanting an outstanding educational experience for their children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School
1021 Douglas St, Sioux City, IA  51105
(712) 252-0573
Last modified Bishop Heelan Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bishop Heelan Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top