Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood High School

Public | 7-12 | 279 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2013

This is by far one of the best schools ever.We have grat teacher that support their students and lots of oppotunities for the people.This is one of the craziest and most exiting schools I've been too.This school is full of spirit,and fun activities,and learning for teacher,parents,students,and the whole community.I would recomend this school to any parents that are in the westwood school district.


Posted August 30, 2013

I attended this school from Kindergarden through graduation. Down right a poor excuse for a educational instution. While the facilities are nice, the teachers are more like friends than mentors or educators, and the staff in general is ignorant. The main reason my husband & I don't live in the area anymore is because I refuse to send my children to this school. Major favortism problems, bullying, unfair treatment. School administrators look the other way just to satisfy the parents of the "in" crowd. Even now when sharing with others what high school i attained, people often laugh and say "oh Westwood, so no education huh?" Do yourself and your children a favor and stay away from this school.


Posted June 27, 2012

I hated this school so badly that I joined the Marine Corps to get away from it. The Marines were a better place to be than in one of these classrooms. I've since gone on to become a certified computer engineer and have my own business in the IT industry but I owe NOTHING to anything this school did for me. The academics were horrible, the atmosphere downright scary (remember, if a Marine calls someplace like this scary, it's scary), the bullying and abuse were rampant, constant and pervasive. This is the worst school I've ever seen, if you love your kid don't send 'em to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I totally agree with the post on 2-7-10, if we didn't live in the area I would not send my kids to Westwood or even Sgt Bluff.. Both these school treat kids playing sports better than the non-playing kids. But if you look back Westwood has always been that way and nobody seems to want to change it. Even if your child does play sports if they don't live in Sloan, have a teacher for a parent or money and the right name your child will not be a player in any of the sports you child will be a bench warmer. So my kids have decide that it was pointless to try out for any sports. And as for the academics they need to get teachers that can teach and not Coaches that try to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

My children also have had trouble with being bullied and the principal not doing anything to hold the parties responsible. It seems like if you play sports, you can do no wrong. To me, academics should be the number one focus, not sports. I am strongly considered homeschooling, because I don't have an option of moving and I don't know if any of the other schools around here are any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

This school has been a great disappointment. Academically they rate below average. My family has had personal issues with a child being bullied and harassed and ultimately had to transfer our child to another school only after many attempts of trying to work with the principal to fix the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 81%
Hispanic 5% 9%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Steve Lemke
Fax number
  • (712) 428-3246

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Rebel Way
Sloan, IA 51055
Website: Click here
Phone: (712) 428-3303

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





East Middle School
Sioux City, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT