Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roland-Story Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2011

AWESOME school! couldn't be happier with staff, including Principal Hartzler. She is a great principal, I have to disagree completely with the comment of the person who thinks she is a horrible principal and shouldn't be around kids. Maybe you think this because your child is a little terror who gets whatever they want when their home, but not at school and you can't live with that. In that case you should go find a different school and leave that opening to a child who really wants to learn. Just because this school has discipline and the kids do not run wild, does not make it a bad school. So far our experience here is wonderful, my child loves it! The teachers are very caring and help each individual child. This school is about respecting each other, politeness, and overall having good manners, which every child SHOULD be raised with. I went to ames schools, and I'll tell you what you do not get the individual attention this school provides. And not to mention, I feel our kids couldn't be safer at this school. GOOD JOB to the staff of Roland-story elementary! We are proud to be a Norse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My grandchildren started Kindergarten this year and have had a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

After reviewing parent comments, I can agree with most of them. We have had a student in this school system for 14 years. And we have left this system for options in Ames. The top down leadership style is rigid and not a 'can-do' form of leadership. School boards hands are tied by federal and state regulations everywhere. The lack of field trips, shortage of teachers, and the negative comments BY teachers are real problems locally. A few bad apples have spoiled the barrel. Time for a change for those folks who don't love to teach anymore-this district pay scale is one of the highest in the state and yet teacher complaints fill the lounge. Public schooling cannot meet the needs of every person. That is a fact. Parents make a choice and sacrifice for kids-it is worth it to research and visit your child's school rooms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

this is a great school, small with focus on the basics. Kids are not 'forced to grow up too fast' here and they can explore the world in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I disagree completely about the principal (Mrs. Hartzler) being such a wonderful principal, although she may know every child's name, she is a very cold woman and belongs in corporate business, not working with children and their families. As I see it, she is really the biggest problem, though I am in agreement with the other two parents about the school's total lack of necessary improvement towards the quality of the school system. Though there are quality teachers and staff employed at the school, the aforementioned factors have made the entire experience with Roland Story an absolute disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

Our experience has been dissapointing. I agree that the test scores are great, and most of the staff has been tolerant and kind. However, I feel that there is so much more that the school could be doing to improve, and aren't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

Our overall experience with this school has been so-so. The teachers are wonderful, as is the general staff at this school, however it definitely is a small town atmosphere with small town beliefs. I have heard time and time again of this schools philosophy of 'if it is not broke, do not fix it', which at times is quite ridiculous. Times are changing and this school needs to change with it using careful review and consideration in areas such as security, fairness, and utilization of resources available to them. While we have no complaints in regards to the clearly excellent test scores, we really wish our children were exposed to a bit more culture, and had better examples being set in regards to tolerance and accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

Roland-Story is an exceptional school. The principal, Mrs. Hartzler, not only knows each child's name, but will step in to teach a class or help with a disruptive child whenever needed as well as keeping track of each child's progress. They integrate children with mental and physical challenges into regular classrooms and provide additional teaching aids for these children. Children are the priority of the school. My son was allowed to be in Title 1 reading to help him meet Roland-Story's standards which are higher than those the state of Iowa & the UnitedStates government set. The teachers are wonderful. Each teacher is concerned about every child, even children not in their class. They believe in this school and what they teach and therefore stay in the school system. They also have a wonderful full time guidance counselor. My son greets all of his teachers with hugs and they love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 81%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Hillcrest Dr
Story City, IA 50248
Phone: (515) 733-4386

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT