Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public
Urbandale, IA
Students enrolled: 198
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
Karen Acres has been the best school for my boys. Small classrooms, and wonderful staff. I love how the teachers/Principle communicate well with the parents.

Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with amazing teachers. I love that it is small enough that my son doesnt get lost is a cluster of kids and gets the 1.1 help when he needs it. The staff is caring and considerate.


Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
The principal, teachers, and staff put our children and their needs first. Everyone at KA takes the time to get to know the students as people. Because they know the students all so well they are able to meet their needs on a personal level so that everyone can excel and live up to their potential. My children have grown leaps and bound with their academic skills as well as their self confidence. The teachers and principal answer questions and concerns immediately and work with parents as partners extremely well. Any concern that my family has ever had has been taken seriously and "resolved" quickly by the school. My children have surpassed all my academic goals exponentially thanks to the quality of education they've received. KA is an extremely talented team of educators!

Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers and staff. Small class sizes, each student receives individual attention. Transferred here from a private school and couldn't be happier with the experience- have no regrets at all.

Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
Test scores do not tell the whole story at schools like Karen Acres. As a parent of 4 kids, who has experienced children at 3 different Urbandale Elementary Schools, I can honestly say this school has the best 5th grade teacher in the district and the 3rd and 4th grade teachers are awesome as well. This is a diverse school, particularly socio-economically with many English Language Learners. Consequently, scores aren't always great, however the teachers here do more to bring the kids they do have as far as they can with limited resources. The only negative here is that the PTO is run by a somewhat "cliquey" group of parents---very tough for "outsiders" to break into but this isn't the fault of the school and part of it is by default as there are a limited number of parents with the resources to be very involved in the PTO due to poverty, work, etc. Great school. My last child is done with elementary this year and I will be sad to leave this environment.


Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
Karen Acres staff - from Custodians to Support staff to Secretary to Teachers to Principal - all have one thing in common: Students are Priority! This is a wonderful, small-town feeling school in the Urbandale, IA area. We have had terrific experience with all teachers and grades! The parent involvement has been incredible. There is nothing KA staff wouldn't do! Go Cougars! Shame on the person who wrote the negative review...there couldn't be a better environment to have our children educated!

Karen Acres Elementary School 1

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
This school is disappointing to say the least. A new principle and administrative staff took over the school in the Fall of 2005. The only thing this administration can boast is complete ineptitude and rudeness.

Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2005
- a parent
This is an excellent elementary school for any parent wanting your child to obtain a top notch education from caring and professional staff. The parent involvement is highly encouraged. The children not only are obtaining a great education, but also developing character. Also, they provide excellent one on one guidance for any child behind in any subject.


Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school. Great Teachers, exceptional parent involvement, and caring staff. The students not only get a great education, but have a lot of fun. The staff provides each student the special attention he/she may need in any subjects they may need improvement in. I would highly recommend Karen Acres for any parent looking for a quality elementary.

Karen Acres Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Karen Acres Elementary School
3500 74th St, Urbandale, IA  50322
(515) 457-5700
Last modified Karen Acres Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Karen Acres Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top