Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a teacher
Rolling Green offers 205 days of instruction. Some of those are called "intersession" and those are project based also. My student participated in the March intersession and they studied "economics" and started with scarcity and ended up having speakers from the bank, stock brokers, and worked on Iowa stocks and bought/ sold stock with play money. Gr. 3 did their own business " Wacky Wallets" , Gr. 4 studies with Des Moines Osteopathic School, and Gr. 5 has Biz World business experience with the Kum and Go support.

Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a community member
EVERYTHING... FROM PRINCIPAL AND STAFF TO PROJECT BASED LEARNING AND PARENT PARTICIPATION... IS AWESOME! KIDS ARE ABLE TO ADVANCE AT THE "RIGHT" LEVEL FOR THEIR NEEDS. WE COULDN'T BE MORE PLEASED.


Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
The kids are so respectful. Bullying is not tolerated. Project Based Learning really brings the kids out into the community to be life long learners.

Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. The entire school is based on Project Based Learning. The kids get so much more out of it.

Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
I'm so thankful Urbandale has a school open to the entire district that uses Project Based Learning. I've found that Rolling Green teaches each individual child to their highest potential, something that is very important to me as a parent. I love the alternative calendar, especially the break in October. It's nice to vacation when the rest of the world isn't! And, the intersessions have been so varied; I know my kids are getting experiences they wouldn't have through school if they weren't at Rolling Green.


Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2011
- a parent
We love many things about Rolling Green including the alternative calendar, project based learning, teachers and staff. Our girls thrive in the alternative calendar which has 180 days just like the traditional calendar, but the unique structure and the additional 6 weeks of intercessions allow greater learning opportunities and retention.

Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a community member
A great school for students who enjoy hand-on learning through project based learning and terrific field experiences.

Rolling Green Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
Rolling Green Elementary School in Urbandale is a fantastic school. Rolling Green offers an Alternative Calender for students and family, which has been a great benefit to us. Our girls are in school the same number of days, but have more breaks and a shorter sumer break. THis allows them to retain more information often lost over the summer. We also love the Project Based Learning environment. This school accepts open enrollment in the Des Moines area and for all Urbandale families. We love everything about this school!


Rolling Green Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rolling Green Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rolling Green Elementary School
8100 Airline Ave, Urbandale, IA  50322
(515) 457-5900
Last modified Rolling Green Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rolling Green Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top