Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Waterloo, IA
Students enrolled: 1,576
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


West High School 3

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Last year was our first year with my son as a sophomore. I was not impressed by conferences last year. We will see about this year. My son is a junior and says he does not like it. I feel like there are issues with the climate, safety, and overall tone at this school. This is my perception at this time.

West High School 1

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
poor leadership by principal and adminstration...i think they have their priorities askew. im trying to find an alternative to remove my kid from this school


West High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
West high really works well with the parents and students to make graduating and having a future a real probability. They do not discriminate or allow discrimination for any reason. The students all work well together and different types of students all come together for a common goal. They have even started a coffee shop in the school to help the special education children have work experience and self esteem. I really appreciate the education and life skills my children have and are still receiving at West High.

West High School 5

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding programs that challenge those students who wish to excel!!!!

West High School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2009
- a parent
Awful experience couldn't wait to move! Teacher answered her cell phone during our conference! Not a very positive enviroment at this school.


West High School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
West high is like a city, it has everything and every kind of group, that is why i love it, it is a big school and everything is new, they stay up on renovations.

West High School 4

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
West is a big school with many diverse groups. All students are encouraged to take the classes that will maximize their potential. There is an activity for every interest and parents can become as involved as they wish.

West High School 4

Posted October 04, 2004
- a student
I attended West High all four of my high school years and currently graduated in May of 2004. During my high school career I got into some trouble and got in with the wrong crowd, some of the teachers and one principal (who is no longer there) helped me as soon as they saw go in the wrong direction. Most of the teachers there care deeply about their students and it really shows.


West High School 5

Posted August 27, 2004
- a student
I was my class valedictorian at West and appreciate more than the academic education, the people education that West gave me. The diversity taught me about other people and how we are really all people. I was involved in many extracurriculars, and I fell that, while at many schools you may have to be in sports or be popular to fit in, every West student can find a place and an activity to enhance their lives. I personally found a place in theater and music, in which West excells. The teachers were always so friendly and I got to know many of them on a personal basis. I had some that I could come to with my personal problems. The principal gets involved in all aspects of West, from sports and theater to academics and discipline. Overall, this is a great school to learn about life.

West High School 4

Posted February 07, 2004
- a parent
Waterloo West High School provides a diverse learning experience while providing extensive extracurricular activities. I am a graduate as well as having one son graduate there, and another currently attending. The education provided to each of us has opened extensive opportunities in our careers and life experiences.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West High School
425 East Ridgeway Ave, Waterloo, IA  50702
(319) 433-2700
Last modified West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top