Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stilwell Junior High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Crawford is such a dynamo of a teacher! From her energy to her passion for teaching, she cares about the kids and makes Stilwell drama an amazing experience! She successfully gets 7th and 8th graders to willingly sign up to be in her class at 6:30 am for play practice or mimes... who else could do that?!

Stilwell Junior High School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
We moved into the district in June of 2013 with our four children. Two of our children (straight A students who have scored in the 90% on the Iowa Assessment) attend Stilwell Junior High School. Let me preface my review by telling you that due to several job transfers this is our 5th school district and our second junior high/middle school. We've had our kids in private schools, public schools and one of the lost sought after pubiic charter schools in the country. Stilwell Junior High is an amazing institution, the administration (Tim Miller, Eric Boyle) is amazing! For a large district, they are getting it right. Our children do not have any special needs or deciplinary issues. They are leaders and are well-respected among their peers. I cannot speak to their special needs program.


Stilwell Junior High School 1

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
Although I have dealt with this school for four years now.I was quite pleased for awhile..I now see and believe that the staff is driven by the numbers..no concern for the individual student. They will say one thing and do another. Rather then give consideration to help the student I feel there actions show concern for performance that is to make the school look better. No concern for the individual student..just the way their performance in attendance and test scores.

Stilwell Junior High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
From the leadership to the teachers, Stilwell is amazing! I had heard great things about the school while my son was still in elementary, but our experience has surpassed all of our expectations. Mr. Miller is a brilliant principal and really takes the time to know the kids and families - even taking a Tiger Time (homeroom) class himself! By and large the teachers are caring and engaged. A great school spirit is nurtured by all. My son said he saw less bullying occur in middle school than in K-6. It was a no-nonsense building with a true zero tolerance attitude. Fabulous education and experience here!

Stilwell Junior High School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
This school is one of the best in the district. From administration to faculty, to enrichment programs and additional education resources for students, Stilwell puts kids first. The approach seems to be more about developing the foundational learning so that the students advance in a high school setting. So impressed with the quality of teaching and nurturing happening here. Our family has three children who attend or attened Stilwell


Stilwell Junior High School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
We are on year 6 of 8 consecutive years at this school. The administration and faculty at this school are tops.

Stilwell Junior High School
no rating

Posted August 12, 2009
- a student
Former Stilwell student here, and it is definitly a fantastic school. They really concentrate on preparing you for those high school and college exams, and further life challenges. 8th grade has several AP classes, and 7th grade has a AP class for math. The only thing that is bothersome is that 7th grade cannot participate in sports. But Stilwell dominates when it comes to sports. Recently, their girls track team placed first in the state for big school division, which hadn't been done in 30 some years. The West Des Moines school district has some lower class people who attend, but mostly their are very high class people. And the lower class still have like, iPods and whatnot, so I guess you can't really say that they are 'lower class.' Their teachers are excellent and dedicate themselves to help you learn more, and expand your knowledge. Its a great school overall!

Stilwell Junior High School 4

Posted March 08, 2009
- a student
i love stilwell. the principal is great! you can go to him for anything!


Stilwell Junior High School 5

Posted December 03, 2004
- a student
Stilwell is the best school I have ever been to- and i've been to plenty. Students really get involved with the school here too- we have extracurricular activities for sports, music, drama, and educational activities. 7th graders take the four core classes plus Phys. Education and a music class. They also participate in the Exploritory Block, which is a 9 week class in Tech. Ed, Home Ec., Consumer Ed. and Art. 7th graders also participate in music, drama, and school services. 8th grade also includes the 4 core classes, plus several electives sch as art, home ec, tech ed, Communications Media, Drama, and Spanish or French. 8th graders also participate in sports, music, drama, and school services. Everyone can participate in intramural sports, like running club, volleyball, football, wrestling, and basketball. Stilwell is overall the best school in the district. I can't even begin to explain th quality of Stilwell.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stilwell Junior High School
1601 Vine St, West Des Moines, IA  50265
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (515) 633-6000
Last modified Stilwell Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top