Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sayre Montessori School

Private | PK-K & ungraded | 43 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Des Moines

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

My son is in his second year at Sayre and we're very happy with the choice. He loves going to school daily, he enjoys the work, and above all loves Miss Ghrist. The environment is warm, calm, respectful and all the staff members treat the children with dignity. At Sayre, they recognize and build up the child's natural motivation and curiosity. The lessons are not about passing standards but about giving care and attention to every life process from taking out materials to putting them away with care. For me, they provide what is missing in a conventional education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Sayre Montessori is a great school. Our daughter has been very happy there, and we have also been pleased with the progress that she has made while attending. The teachers & director truly care about her needs and her learning. I also love the fact that they really stress that parents provide healthy nutrient rich foods with limited sugar content. They recognize that education is not just putting a lesson in front of children, but rather all the experiences that one has contribute to learning. So happy with Sayre!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

My children go to Sayre currently (and since 2010), and it is a wonderful school. If you are considering it for your child, or would even simply like to come and learn about Montessori, please come observe a classroom in addition to reading internet reviews to guide your decision. Having our children at Sayre has always been a very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

My daughter attended Sayre for a time and had a truly awful experience. What started out well quickly became a nightmare for her due to intolerance for her learning style and an overly regimented and authoritarian staff. My daughter is now in therapy due to the stress she endured there. I would strongly discourage anyone from sending their child to Sayre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

Following an unexpected move from the east coast, our 4 year old son was enrolled at Sayre this fall. Being new to the Montessori concept, we weren't sure if we were doing the right thing but were impressed by the staff/teachers and the cleanliness of the school and decided to go with it. Only a few months in, we cannot express our delight with how much our son loves the school and how well his education is progressing. The individual attention and positive reinforcement he gets is incredible, and each child works at their own pace. My wife and I could not more highly recommend Sayre. The passion and qualifications of the teachers are top notch, and classrooms and shared space are always immaculate. We are so delighted to have found Sayre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

Sayre Montessori School is a fantastic school. We are so glad we found the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

I am a parent at Sayre and it has an absolute wonder for our daughter. We live in Johnston, which has some of the best test scores in the state. For our 'conventional learner' sixteen yr old son, Johnston has been ok, but our daughter is a different type of learner. After failing to find open and mutual ground with her Johnston teacher, we moved to Sayre mid-year of first grade. From day one, the Sayre staff was concerned, warm, and welcoming. They wanted to know and listen to us as parents, and spent several days getting to know our daughter before she enrolled. Class size is small and attention oriented. The art and music is wonderful. The teachers and staff care. This is a quality school for your children. Those who have complained here really need to be more specific and fair in their criticisms, and should have contributed more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

We were very happy at Sayre for the last several years. Unfortunately, with the changes in staff and leadership, it has become a cold and unloving school, devoid of respect for the students and their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

This is my son's second year at Sayre and we have been extremely happy with his progress both academically and socially. Sayre is one of the best schools in the Des Moines Metro. My son is only 4, and already doing some 1st grade work. Sayre is everything we look for in a school. Diversity, Academic challenge, great teachers, great parents, and great students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

This is an excellent school. This is the second year that my son has gone there. We were going to put him in public schools next year but we are going to continue with this school for 6 more years. My son has been able to learn at his own pace which is faster than what he was getting in preschool. He is farther advanced than friends that he has of the same age. I would recommend this school to anyone that wants thier children to get ahead and have a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 86%
Hispanic 11% 7%
Asian 5% 1%
Black 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 28th St
West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone: (515) 225-7378

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montessori Children's House
West Des Moines, IA


Child Time
Clive, IA



Fairmeadows Elementary School
West Des Moines, IA


Iowa Christian Academy
West Des Moines, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT