Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillside Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
Really depends on the teacher and your student. Some years, too much, some years not enough.

Hillside Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
The Character Counts program instills these values from Day One. The children recite the pledge every day, and they strive toward it.


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
Don't let the "Great Schools" rating you see on here inform your opinions of Hillside. That rating is based on test scores from 2011, and tells a very small part of the story. Hillside has been my kids' second home for seven years. They are valued as individuals and reap the benefits of a larger school, but the teachers care about them as individuals. The school's unique Artful Learning curriculum engages students in their learning. They learn the basics that all children need as the basis for a solid education, while being immersed in the arts. There are several award-winning teachers on staff, along with many other who deserve awards. Hillside is viewed as the model for Artful Learning throughout the nation. Visitors from other districts visit our school to see what we're doing, and why it's working. Something else to keep in mind when looking at schools is whether or not the district you are looking at provides associates in kindergarten and first grade classrooms. West Des Moines schools do so, which means another caring adult in the room with your child. They work full-time in kindergarten and part of the day in first grade. It makes a huge difference, and I know of no other district in the metro that provides that. WDM schools also offer more music education and foreign language offerings for elementary than almost every other metro district. We've been blessed to be a part of Hillside. It's not perfect, but no school is. I love that my children are surrounded by diversity of economics, skin color and language every day. It's how they are learning to see the world.

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
This school has very caring teachers and assisting staff. The principal does not give up on any child or send them to alternative school. He brings in the best outside sources to help with learning and the students have many chances to learn at field trips as well as a couple of behavior award trips a year. I moved in the middle of a school year but open enrolled my child to stay at Hillside. He was learning a lot, has many opportunities, and great support. The school emphasizes the arts and great character. There is a large diversity of students and no one student is any better then another. They treat every child like he/she will succeed.

Hillside Elementary School 1

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
An accident waiting to happen. Lack of discipline and enforcement of rules creates an oppressive and dangerous environment. Very poor leadership on part of principal.


Hillside Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
great teachers that care - work there for generations of family & care about the community.

Hillside Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
We have such loving and caring staff for our children to learn from! Our principal and assistant principal were my elementary teacher and principal, so I love the consistency and stamina of our devoted teachers!

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
I love the teachers,they have great communication to the parents.

Nearby schools

Hillside Elementary School
713 8th St, West Des Moines, IA  50265
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (515) 633-6200
Last modified Hillside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top