Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Andover, KS
Students enrolled: 781

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Andover Central High School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school, excellent teachers. Administration that cares. Firm but fair disciplinary structure. Kids are allowed leeway but faculty clearly in charge of their classrooms. Achievements are a matter of public record....students perform extremely well on standardized tests. Numerous extra-curricular activities. Safe, supportive environment. Things like dress code and student section antics are reasonably monitored and well controlled. Facilities are very good. ACHS is a place for good kids and good parents. Kids that want to disrupt the learning environment should consider other options; they just don't tolerate that in Andover schools. Progressive discipline system, again, is firm but fair.

Andover Central High School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
I am not sure where to begin with Andover Central... To list off the FEW positives they have a nice building and technology. As far as that NOTHING else is good ! The teachers don't care about actually getting the children educated, and the administration may be the worst I've EVER seen. They cannot resolve any problems in a correct manner. Math is horrible at Andover Central and in math assist little to no help was offered the teachers allowed their students to use iPads to work on a program that related nothing with math so the teacher did nothing . I transfered my children to a private school in Wichita after an AWFUL year at Andover Central where they had a D in a math and at the private school they had As... this school as has major bullying problems and the adminstration does nothing . If you want your kids to grow up as rude disrespectful adults send them to Andover Central.. if not spend the money on a private school. Trust me Wichita has superior private schools.( Kapaun Mt. Carmel, The Independent School, Wichita Collegiate School, Trinity Academy, Sunrise act.)


Andover Central High School 5

Posted July 06, 2012
- a student
I loved going to Andover Central High School. This school has so many opportunities to do great things. Someone said that high school is what you make it and I agree with that. If you take the time to be involved and get to know people than you will enjoy it. Their teachers are good and the place feels much more polished than usual public schools. The food from the cafeteria is good and some days I miss their enchiladas. The principal has changed since I went there so I cannot really comment on that. The extracurricular programs are great and a lot of money is spent on new technology each year. They really try to keep things up to date and well maintained.

Andover Central High School 3

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
The counselors at this school are not very helpful in anyway. Diversity is very limited. However, the areas of extracurricular activities are some of the best in the state.

Andover Central High School 3

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
If you have grown up in Andover your whole life, then you will like this High School. The facilities and advantages this school has over many of it's neighboring schools is astounding! A lot of money is spent on appearances and not enough emphasis is put on helping struggling students. Don't expect to be welcomed as a newcomer however, unless you have a lot of money or your son/daughter is the new sports or drama star. If you want to be fake and waste your money on a lot of stuff that doesn't really matter, than by all means, go here. Good luck raising respectful, well adjusted young adults, ha!


Andover Central High School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a student
I am a Senior at Andover Central High School and love it. I feel sorry for the girl that moved to ACHS from Blue Valley and did not find the counselors helpful. I know it can be difficult moving to a new school I myself have been to nine different schools up to now because of my father s job but high school is what you make it. I would not go to any other High School in Kansas. The teachers, facilities, and activities available at Andover Central are superior.

Andover Central High School 5

Posted May 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Andover Central High School 0
no rating

Posted April 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter moved to this school from Blue Valley North, (Overland Park) where shehad been enrolled to take AP courses - the counselors at this school are not helpful! After one miserable semester here, I transferred my daughter to a private school in Wichita. I guess if you were raised in Andover, you like this school. As a newcomer, the counselors and adminisration are NOT friendly or helpful. The students are not accepting of newcomers. There is a lot of hype about this school, but don't believe it!


Andover Central High School 5

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Andover Central High School 5

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
My child had just recently moved from Andover Central High School her junior year of high school. She was raised there since kindergarten and the move was a very sad ordeal for her. Just recently she was talking about how much she truly missed the school and most of all, the teachers. If a seventeen year old can realize the personal relationship that the teachers and administrative staff have with the students, then they are doing their job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Andover Central High School
603 East Central, Andover, KS  67002
(316) 218-4700
Last modified Andover Central High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Andover Central High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top