Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Basehor-Linwood High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 32 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2011

Basehor Lindwood High School is part of an excellent community. It is an excellent mid-sized school with a lot of school spirit. My daughter graduated last year and is now at the University of Missouri. Could Basehor challenge some of its students a bit more academically? Sure, but the positives more than made up for not having a fencing program or the option to learn Chinese.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

BLHS was a nightmare for my child. Staff was not compassionate and they were a part of school clicks. We switched schools and my child made honor roll got a nice scholarship and his ACT is awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

As an alumnus of BLHS, I can say that this is a good school. As a college graduate, I can say that BLHS prepared me well for college. I would highly recommend anyone who is looking to continue on to college after graduation to take the extra classes offered, such as chemistry and physics. These classes will be important for many gen-ed requirements at the collegiate level. I would also highly recommend that the student take extra math classes as well, such as trig/pre-calc or general calculus. As with anything else, your education is what you put into it, and if you are willing to put forth the effort the teachers at BLHS will prepare you well for what lies ahead.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

it is so good , we make it better every year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

BLHS is a good school to get to know people and establish relationships with teachers. However, I went to BLHS and now am seeking higher education. I don't feel that BLHS prepared me for college academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

Basehor does to have honors classes. They have honors english and advanced languages and idea. I have experianced different schools and this school is by far the best. Everyone is so friendly there. I will allways tell every parent to send their child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

This is such a positive school! I absolutely love it! I recently transferred from Eudora's schools and I've seen such a dramatic difference between the learning environments! You can actually talk to the teachers here! And everyone is just so friendly!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

I attented Basehor-Linwood for 3 out of the 4 years of my highschool education. All I have to say is that I will NOT be sending my child to BLHS or any school similiar. The only reason people believe it is a great school is because they have never experienced anything else. These people that are so impressed by BLHS obviously do not care about a quality education. Where are the honors classes? How about Advanced Placement or IB? There is only 1, and it's english. What about people like me? People that have ambitions beyond just highschool graduation, people that want to do well in college and want to feel like they are prepared when they get there. As a very driven student I feel as if BLHS did not challenge me in the ways that I wanted to be challenged.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

Basehor-Linwood is a great school. The teachers are great and will help you if you ask for it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

I love going to Basehor linwood High School. They have so much to offer there, and they made my transition from being homeschooled to going to a public school really easily.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

Basehor-Linwood is a very great school district. The High School has very good teachers, staff, and great activities.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

160 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities87%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities93%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities94%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities71%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Hispanic 7% 17%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Black 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2108 North 155 St
Basehor, KS 66007
Phone: (913) 724-2266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bonner Springs High School
Bonner Springs, KS


Piper High School
Kansas City, KS


Tonganoxie High School
Tonganoxie, KS


Lansing High 9-12
Lansing, KS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT