Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
331 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary Parish Catholic School 2

Posted September 12, 2015
- a community member
Terrible experience. They do not represent catholic values at all. When I enrolled they pressured me to fill out the reduced lunch program application. She said," we get more money from the state and we LOVE that!" That sums it up. From pornographic books to middle school teachers pushing a leftist agenda this place is losing good families fast.

St Mary Parish Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 12, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Zeller is by far the best teacher in this school. She is very compassionate, strong in the faith, and a great role model.


St Mary Parish Catholic School 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I am comforted with the safety in private schools accredited with the teaching of faith and respect towards one another. Not only does St Mary's prepare students for the standardized state tests, they achieve more. The school is from K-8th with a grade level size of approximately 34-45 students. There is a school nurse, enrichment teacher, art teacher, music and band teacher with plans to add to the staff. Kindergarten has two teachers and many others have an aide. Parents appreciate the school and are dedicated to the success so in turn donate precious volunteer hours. The building design is fantastic with three hallways separating preschool-2nd, 3rd-5th, and 6th-8th. When deciding which school is best for your child, take a tour of St. Mary's, you will be impressed. Only in Kansas will you find the tuition based on tithing. It is a way of life that Kansans live and appreciate, and that is what makes this school successful.

St Mary Parish Catholic School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of 5 and who has 3 children attending St.Mary's. I would say I could think of a better school to send my kids to. After being in the public schools around our area, I know we made the right choice to send our kids to St.Mary's.

St Mary Parish Catholic School 1

Posted February 13, 2014
- a community member
This School. Does NOT represent Catholic values. If your child is not a straight A student or has a learning disability , medical condition, forget it. They only want the best for the State Assessments and to look good. Children are bullied and made to feel like they are nothing unless they are perfect. Many good families have left the school and church over this. The principal and very few teachers try but they are ran over by the rest. I strongly urge you to go to other Catholic school.


St Mary Parish Catholic School 1

Posted August 09, 2009
- a parent
This school is full of bullying & the administration does nothing. Good test score don't mean anything if your child is not safe in the school. It is sad that so many good involved families have left over the last 3-4 years while the bullies remain. I strongly urge you to look at other Catholic schools.

St Mary Parish Catholic School 5

Posted May 31, 2008
- a parent
The perfect blend of academics and faith. Students are expected to excel not only academically but within their Catholic faith. The staff truly care about each student and parent involvement is not only welcome but encouraged.

St Mary Parish Catholic School 5

Posted August 11, 2005
- a parent
I cannot tell you how pleased we are with St. Mary school. The entire staff treats each student as a member of the family. Students are expected to respect and encourage their fellow students and it shows at every school assembly. The staff from the principal to the maintenance staff consider their work a vocation not a job. The academics is outstanding, every grade reaching the Standard of Excellence, but the true measure of the school is the Christ-like atmosphere exhuded throughout the school every day.

Nearby schools

St Mary Parish Catholic School
2306 East Meadowlark Road, Derby, KS  67037
(316) 788-3151
Last modified St Mary Parish Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top