Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 406 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

I love Park Hill Elementary School. Our new Principal is wonderful. She has really put a lot of energy in getting to know the kids and the parents. My daughter has loved her Kindergarten teacher and all three of my sons loved their 4th and 5th grade teachers. Our music teacher is wonderful and kind and puts on the best choir productions. My kids have really done well here in Derby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

We love this school. Our daughter picked our home based on the school in 2008. Admin Staff was very helpful from the beginning until now. Teachers make learning enjoyable. Our daughter looks forward to going to school everyday and complains when we have to take her out of school. This school is instrumental in developing our daughter to become the student we want her to be. Park Hill also offers enrichment classes in Grades 1-3 preparing and challenging students to be a part of the Talented and Gifted program. Our child has flourished personality and academic wise, especially this year. The new principal listens and communicates well. PTO is very active, involved, and raises lots of funds for the school. I definitely would recommend this elementary school to anyone moving in to the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Our experience with the kindergarten program has been incredible. My daughter adores her teacher and looks forward to going to school each day. Kids are expected to practice reading, writing and math skills at home on a daily basis but the materials make learning fun and interactive. I'm proud to be a Park Hill parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Park Hill has a new principal this year. The teachers are great and do not assign too much homework. It is a all around wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

We built a home in this area to have our son attend this school since it is the newest (and should be the best). We were somewhat satisfied his first year but have been very disappointed this year. In our opinion, the principal is very unapproachable. The children come home with homework almost nightly starting in kindergarten to the point that I wonder if they learn anything while IN school (or do I only teach my son). My son comes home hungry most days complaining that he did not have time to eat lunch. We have attended his lunches to verify this. The building itself is nice but other than that, I am not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

An all around nice school. Clean and the kids really love the caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

55 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities88%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities81%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities87%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities73%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 68%
Hispanic 7% 16%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Black 4% 7%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 East Woodbrook Ln
Derby, KS 67037
Phone: (316) 788-8095

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT