Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Derby Sixth Grade Center

Public | 6

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

The principal is exceptional, but their are too many kids. They have a handful of very poor teachers. Though the lesson plans are good, the teachers don't seem to care about the students. Complaints are treated with a everything-will- be- fine condescension. Bullying is supposed to not be tolerated, but it happens constantly. The teachers who do care fight for resources. The rest of the teachers are great, but this handful makes the whole school look ineffective. My child has begged me to homeschool her and she is a social butterfly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

The SGC concept scared me to death knowing my children would be going from a single classroom to a team teaching "big school". How wrong I was. I have 3 boys who all attended the D6GC and each had their own special set of circumstances that made me think they would not flourish in the school. Instead, it was the most successful school year each one of my 3 boys experienced. Teachers and staff cared about my kids. I had one son with learning issues (now 21), and he LOVED school and learned more that year than he had in the two years prior. Second son had anxiety issues and every day the principal would come to my car and gently usher my child in. The principal met with my son's team of teachers to make sure the school did all in their power to make school seem safe and pleasant. By second semester my child joyfully walked in the door every day by himself. My third child is the kind of student who I thought would find trouble around every corner, but instead his teachers embraced his life and natural leadership and we didn't have a single issue all year long. All 3 excelled academically and I attribute that to teachers who work together in teams to ensure student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

Amazing principal! A great experience for those awkward pre -teen years. All schools are united in 6th grade. It is great for the students. They also have an excellent music program....top notch! Derby 6th grade center...the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

The Derby Sixth Grade Center is by far my favorite school EVER. This school environment is perfect for military kids. Sixth graders from all over our district come together in one school for sixth grade so it is the perfect situation for new or newish military kids to integrate into this learning environment. Jeff Smith is the principal, and he is involved with the students and teachers, AND he listens to parents! I am such a fan of his. My two oldest boys have been on the Aviator team last year and this year. I can't say enough about how wonderful these teachers are. Ms Phipps is the best English Teacher, Mr Richardson is an amazing Social Studies teacher and Ms. Greenup makes Math fun (even though she loves the Broncos...We forgive her because she also loves Bon Jovi!) Ms Versteeg is wonderful about sending information home to parents and keeping us in the loop that our adorable middle schoolers forget that we need to be informed about. The Sixth Grade Center also has an amazing Choir. Students are introduced to community service programs there and are taught to be responsible in preparation for their move into Middle School. It is a wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

this is one of the best schools i have been in.everyone is so nice to me i just love it there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

I believe this is a great school. My son has only been going there for two months now. A little rocky start trying to adjust from being led to leading himself, but very good for him to learn. I've called about struggles, only for them to be immediately addressed. For example, his shyness affects him asking questions, and they reach out and help him and watch for him. Wonderful, caring people...great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

Excellent school psychologist and social worker who helped by child by placing him in a smaller setting off campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

It is a school attempting to be organized. I have had lots of problems with getting phone calls returned. Also, a few of the teachers I have dealt with here are good teachers but are not interested in helping the underachiever. Even with an involved parent. His new math teachers seems completly different, she is much more cheerful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Excellent Staff of teachers and support staff. Good communication with parents and other educators. High expectations with a caring attitude shown by all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

510 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

510 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
86%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

510 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
African American74%
Hispanic81%
Multi-ethnic83%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander75%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities80%
Proficient in English77%

Reading

All Students90%
African American75%
Hispanic84%
Multi-ethnic83%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander68%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities87%
Proficient in English77%

U.S. History and Government

All Students75%
African American66%
Hispanic66%
Multi-ethnic56%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander72%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities66%
Proficient in English57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 67%
Hispanic 13% 17%
Black 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

715 East Madison
Derby, KS 67037
Website: Click here
Phone: (316) 788-8408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT