Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6
Public
Derby, KS
Students enrolled: 512

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Derby Sixth Grade Center 3

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
The principal is exceptional, but their are too many kids. They have a handful of very poor teachers. Though the lesson plans are good, the teachers don't seem to care about the students. Complaints are treated with a everything-will- be- fine condescension. Bullying is supposed to not be tolerated, but it happens constantly. The teachers who do care fight for resources. The rest of the teachers are great, but this handful makes the whole school look ineffective. My child has begged me to homeschool her and she is a social butterfly.
1 person found this helpful

Derby Sixth Grade Center 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
The SGC concept scared me to death knowing my children would be going from a single classroom to a team teaching "big school". How wrong I was. I have 3 boys who all attended the D6GC and each had their own special set of circumstances that made me think they would not flourish in the school. Instead, it was the most successful school year each one of my 3 boys experienced. Teachers and staff cared about my kids. I had one son with learning issues (now 21), and he LOVED school and learned more that year than he had in the two years prior. Second son had anxiety issues and every day the principal would come to my car and gently usher my child in. The principal met with my son's team of teachers to make sure the school did all in their power to make school seem safe and pleasant. By second semester my child joyfully walked in the door every day by himself. My third child is the kind of student who I thought would find trouble around every corner, but instead his teachers embraced his life and natural leadership and we didn't have a single issue all year long. All 3 excelled academically and I attribute that to teachers who work together in teams to ensure student success.
1 person found this helpful


Derby Sixth Grade Center 4

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
Amazing principal! A great experience for those awkward pre -teen years. All schools are united in 6th grade. It is great for the students. They also have an excellent music program....top notch! Derby 6th grade center...the place to be!
1 person found this helpful

Derby Sixth Grade Center 5

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
The Derby Sixth Grade Center is by far my favorite school EVER. This school environment is perfect for military kids. Sixth graders from all over our district come together in one school for sixth grade so it is the perfect situation for new or newish military kids to integrate into this learning environment. Jeff Smith is the principal, and he is involved with the students and teachers, AND he listens to parents! I am such a fan of his. My two oldest boys have been on the Aviator team last year and this year. I can't say enough about how wonderful these teachers are. Ms Phipps is the best English Teacher, Mr Richardson is an amazing Social Studies teacher and Ms. Greenup makes Math fun (even though she loves the Broncos...We forgive her because she also loves Bon Jovi!) Ms Versteeg is wonderful about sending information home to parents and keeping us in the loop that our adorable middle schoolers forget that we need to be informed about. The Sixth Grade Center also has an amazing Choir. Students are introduced to community service programs there and are taught to be responsible in preparation for their move into Middle School. It is a wonderful school!!!
1 person found this helpful

Derby Sixth Grade Center 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a student
this is one of the best schools i have been in.everyone is so nice to me i just love it there.
1 person found this helpful


Derby Sixth Grade Center 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
I believe this is a great school. My son has only been going there for two months now. A little rocky start trying to adjust from being led to leading himself, but very good for him to learn. I've called about struggles, only for them to be immediately addressed. For example, his shyness affects him asking questions, and they reach out and help him and watch for him. Wonderful, caring people...great principal.
1 person found this helpful

Derby Sixth Grade Center 4

Posted September 18, 2007
- a parent
Excellent school psychologist and social worker who helped by child by placing him in a smaller setting off campus.
1 person found this helpful

Derby Sixth Grade Center 3

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
It is a school attempting to be organized. I have had lots of problems with getting phone calls returned. Also, a few of the teachers I have dealt with here are good teachers but are not interested in helping the underachiever. Even with an involved parent. His new math teachers seems completly different, she is much more cheerful.
1 person found this helpful


Derby Sixth Grade Center 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
Excellent Staff of teachers and support staff. Good communication with parents and other educators. High expectations with a caring attitude shown by all.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Derby Sixth Grade Center
715 East Madison, Derby, KS  67037
(316) 788-8408
Last modified Derby Sixth Grade Center is a Public school that serves grade 6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Derby Sixth Grade Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top