Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tanglewood Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Sites is an amazing principal and her leadership makes Tanglewood the fantastic school it is.

Tanglewood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Teachers at Tanglewood love to teach and you can tell by their enthusiasm and ability to engage their students in learning.


Tanglewood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
I have to say depending on the grade level they are in my answer may change for this. I have felt some years my student didn't have enough and one year that they had too much. Overall they have a good balance and try to teach the kids time management as they get older and to use their time wisely so they won't have a lot of homework for the evenings and weekends.

Tanglewood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
One of the many things Tanglewood teaches students is that they should never keep another student from learning. This teaches them they should respect their teachers and surrounding students and behave appropriately.

Tanglewood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Tanglewood is fantastic with having students respect and help on another. If someone falls on the playground they will have a friend help bring them to the nurse for moral support.


Tanglewood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
The school has a wonderful DARE program for the 5th grade that teaches kids about good decision making skills. They also have a fantastic integrated system for their special needs students that makes sure they spend as much time with their grade level as possible which is great for all students to learn and observe how everyone learns differently.

Tanglewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Tanglewood is a wonderful elementary school! My children love coming to school every morning and always come home happy with something new they learned to talk about. The office staff is welcoming and very helpful whenever you need to get a message to your student or take them out for an appointment. The teachers and paras are all wonderful people who seem happy to be at work everyday. They have a fantastic parent group that helps with hosting family events and fundraising for field trips and school supplies. We were very scared when we first walked in to Tanglewood 5 years ago because of the open concepts, but have been pleasantly surprised how well the kids learn and focus when they are older because of the skills they learned at an early age at Tanglewood.

Tanglewood Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
My son is falling behind in his academics due to the lack of attention from his teacher. Very disturbing to see red notations on his homework yet nothing corrective has been done about it.


Tanglewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2003
- a parent
This is a wonderful school that truly cares about children. We have had nothing but a postive experience. The staff always goes the extra mile for every child. I have seen them spend long hours working with a child in need, and also those that need extra enrichment! The parents are always welcome and encouraged to come up to the school to help in the classroom. The Principal is wonderful, she greets the students and parents by name every morning. I have always felt at home when I step in the door! I am not sure where the parent that made a comment in June of 2003 is coming from. I have to wonder if she or he had some issuses concering attendance, the school is required to take action according to state law. Aren't we all just looking out for what is best for all children. If parents won't do it, I thank the schools for making parents accountable for their childs attendance! Let's not bash a school that cares about every child's future! Thank you Tanglewood for providing a wonderful learning enviroment for my children!

Tanglewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2003
- a parent
I just read the comments from a parent regarding dr. appointments & such. My daughter has had several appointments, has come in late, I've had to pick her up early before, and the school has never once treated me disrespectfully, or questioned my intentions as a parent. I'm sure they have to question 'some' that perhaps are abusing the system, and perhaps causing difficulty for their own child. Our family has had nothing but the finest experiences at this A+ school. I have a kindergartner getting ready to start & I would think of no other school than this one to put him in.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tanglewood Elementary School
830 Ridgecrest Rd, Derby, KS  67037
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (316) 788-8565
Last modified Tanglewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top