Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Riley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

FRE is a great school the staff really care about your kids. FRE being a military school gets kids from all over the U.S. with varying ethnic/scholastic backgrounds and does a great job of getting kids to meet or surpass National standards. We have been really pleased with the progression our kids have shown. A good school really makes a difference. I didn't give it five stars because the school is dated and small but that will change next year as they are currently building a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

Fort Riley Elementary is the best school my children have ever attended. The teachers, principal and staff go above and beyond to reach the needs of students and families. The building structure is out of date and that is why they will receive a brand new building in the 2015-2016 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Fort Riley Elementary (FRE) School is a fantastic school! As a military parent whose children have attended elementary schools in five states, I am so grateful for the quality teachers, principal and staff. They truly care about their students and do all that they can to make them successful. Fort Riley Elementary also has a high parent participation/volunteer rate and is welcoming to any parents that wish to be part of their student(s)' education. FRE, like all schools on military installations, has a large number of students transferring in and out each year. The teachers and staff do a tremendous job of welcoming new families and making sure each student is appropriately placed and receives all educational services needed. As the school works to adopt the Kansas College and Career Ready Standards (Common Core), there will be a mismatch in the standardized test scores and what the students are actually learning. Don't let a change in test scores worry you! This is a high achieving, highly motivated school. We love FRE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

This is the worst school we have ever attended. I truly believe this school "waits" you out until you PCS. If you have a "normal" child, you might be okay despite the lack of space and overcrowding. If you have a child who needs any special attention, your child will not thrive here. They say they will help...they will meet with you...but nothing will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

I have an ADHD child who is regressing and struggling at this school. Class sizes are too large and there seems to be no order. Kids are free to yell to each other at lunch and through the hallways. There also seems to be no control in the classroom either. I didnt want us to PCS anytime soon but due to this I am praying for one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

School is overcrowded. Class room size is too large. Kindergarten does not have art class nor a graduation. The school is not aesthetically pleasing nor does it have many of the resources a current day elementary should have. On the plus side, some great teachers making due with what they have...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

Great School, and learning is taking place. Just wish there was more enthusiasm from teachers and staff. When teachers are excited about teaching , students will be excited to learn. Student testing seems to be on everyones minds and the test scores.. Teach to teach , not to take a test. :/ Improvements : Painting the inside of the building to brighten it up (Sorta Gloomy in there) As soon as you walk in, you will understand what I mean. Remodeling the bathrooms, Fence around entire school, Better parking, Possibly bigger gym as well. Overall needs some remodeling and renovations , an old building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

My son has ADD and as soon as we enrolled in FRE i was unimpressed the amount of unprofessionalism was over whelming. From my point of view i have seen a teacher yeling at a child and throughing a lunch on the table. That behavior is not somthing i would exspect from a educator maybe a 4 year old child. My son will be attending a private school next year where he is free to feel safe and learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

This school is a tremendously caring environment. The principal is among the best I have ever encountered, and the teachers will bend over backwords to address parental concerns. This is also the first elementary school my four children have attended (and the military insures they have attended quite a few) that enthusiastically plans and executes continuous after school activities. Team building and having fun are part of the learning environment. My kids love this school, and they have progressed rapidly in their academic skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

I have been so pleased with this school, staff and the Principal Becky Lay. This is definitely a hard combination of support to find within one school. Becky Lay is very supportive when it comes to her students, parents, and staff. My daughter's Kindergarten teacher Ms Berges is by far the most caring and friendly teacher I have ever met. My daughter learns so much during class time because she makes learning so fun that my daughter comes home so excited to show and tell me about her day. There is one great quality I took note of right away with this school during classtime or recess and that is that Special Education students are treated equally and fairly by students, staff, and principal. This is a very safe, caring, gentle, and friendly environment for your children. If you are looking for one of the best schools this is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

The academic structure is well organized and planned out. The school is very focused on good test scores. There are several after school programs for children including sports, scouts, and hands-on-science. Parent involvement in the school is probably the highest throughout the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

My oldest child attended here from 2nd grade through 5th and my baby went here from kindergarden all the way through 5th grade. I volunteered at this school every year until I started working here full time. I could not have asked for a better place for my girls to have spent their elementary years!! The staff and teachers are awesome! The office personel are some of the sweetest most understanding ladies you will ever meet. Mrs. Lay is a wonderful caring principal who listens to the children. The curriculum is amazing. I am confident that anywhere else we PCS to will not be difficult for the girls because they are way ahead on the learning curve because of this school. They encourage parent involvement. In fact beg for it! LOL I love this school and you will be very blessed to have your child attned here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Office staff is less than welcoming to parents. Classroom teachers have been friendly and open to helping my children, but I never actually feel welcome at FRE. I think they need to work on parent relations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

I believe that the poster who gave FRE 1 star must have posted in the wrong place. This is an elementary school so no teenagers here; as far as I'm aware there aren't any 'team sports' and I don't know of any 'planners'. This school is wonderful; I volunteer on a regular basis and know many, many parents who do too. My only real complaint is that they are hurting so badly for money that they rely on volunteers a little too much, but that is not their fault- there isn't enough money from the state. I just wish my child could attend until the 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

53 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 67%
Hispanic 15% 17%
Black 14% 7%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104 Morris Ave
Fort Riley, KS 66442
Website: Click here
Phone: (785) 717-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Grandview Elementary School
Junction City, KS


Ware Elementary School
Fort Riley, KS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT