Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fort Riley Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
FRE is a great school the staff really care about your kids. FRE being a military school gets kids from all over the U.S. with varying ethnic/scholastic backgrounds and does a great job of getting kids to meet or surpass National standards. We have been really pleased with the progression our kids have shown. A good school really makes a difference. I didn't give it five stars because the school is dated and small but that will change next year as they are currently building a new school.

Fort Riley Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
Fort Riley Elementary is the best school my children have ever attended. The teachers, principal and staff go above and beyond to reach the needs of students and families. The building structure is out of date and that is why they will receive a brand new building in the 2015-2016 school year.


Fort Riley Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Fort Riley Elementary (FRE) School is a fantastic school! As a military parent whose children have attended elementary schools in five states, I am so grateful for the quality teachers, principal and staff. They truly care about their students and do all that they can to make them successful. Fort Riley Elementary also has a high parent participation/volunteer rate and is welcoming to any parents that wish to be part of their student(s)' education. FRE, like all schools on military installations, has a large number of students transferring in and out each year. The teachers and staff do a tremendous job of welcoming new families and making sure each student is appropriately placed and receives all educational services needed. As the school works to adopt the Kansas College and Career Ready Standards (Common Core), there will be a mismatch in the standardized test scores and what the students are actually learning. Don't let a change in test scores worry you! This is a high achieving, highly motivated school. We love FRE!!

Fort Riley Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
This is the worst school we have ever attended. I truly believe this school "waits" you out until you PCS. If you have a "normal" child, you might be okay despite the lack of space and overcrowding. If you have a child who needs any special attention, your child will not thrive here. They say they will help...they will meet with you...but nothing will change.

Fort Riley Elementary School 2

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
I have an ADHD child who is regressing and struggling at this school. Class sizes are too large and there seems to be no order. Kids are free to yell to each other at lunch and through the hallways. There also seems to be no control in the classroom either. I didnt want us to PCS anytime soon but due to this I am praying for one!


Fort Riley Elementary School 1

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
School is overcrowded. Class room size is too large. Kindergarten does not have art class nor a graduation. The school is not aesthetically pleasing nor does it have many of the resources a current day elementary should have. On the plus side, some great teachers making due with what they have...

Fort Riley Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
Great School, and learning is taking place. Just wish there was more enthusiasm from teachers and staff. When teachers are excited about teaching , students will be excited to learn. Student testing seems to be on everyones minds and the test scores.. Teach to teach , not to take a test. :/ Improvements : Painting the inside of the building to brighten it up (Sorta Gloomy in there) As soon as you walk in, you will understand what I mean. Remodeling the bathrooms, Fence around entire school, Better parking, Possibly bigger gym as well. Overall needs some remodeling and renovations , an old building.

Fort Riley Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
My son has ADD and as soon as we enrolled in FRE i was unimpressed the amount of unprofessionalism was over whelming. From my point of view i have seen a teacher yeling at a child and throughing a lunch on the table. That behavior is not somthing i would exspect from a educator maybe a 4 year old child. My son will be attending a private school next year where he is free to feel safe and learn


Fort Riley Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fort Riley Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2006
- a parent
This school is a tremendously caring environment. The principal is among the best I have ever encountered, and the teachers will bend over backwords to address parental concerns. This is also the first elementary school my four children have attended (and the military insures they have attended quite a few) that enthusiastically plans and executes continuous after school activities. Team building and having fun are part of the learning environment. My kids love this school, and they have progressed rapidly in their academic skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Riley Elementary School
104 Morris Ave, Fort Riley, KS  66442
(785) 717-4450
Last modified Fort Riley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Riley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top