Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ware Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 753 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

I attended ware elementary in 1990-91. The faculty and staff members are very awesome people. very nice area and the school system was and still today is very impactful.


Posted February 12, 2013

I was amazed by the tecnology in this school and the amount of effort that was put into helping my child. My son has an IEP and his classroom teacher (Mrs. Dressman, 1st Grade) goes above and beyond what what her job description is to help her student. The other staff are very friendly, upbeat, positive, and willing to help. I love the Ware Bear motivation system they used in my sons first grade class. His teacher was great at communicating with us. This is a great school and I am sad that we had to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

My Son started school at Ware Elementary! We are getting ready to PCS and we are both sad about leaving Ware! The two teachers (K-1) he has had have been so amazing and sweet! I absolutely love them and the communication between parents and teacher is great. I love how the do a reward system for positive behavior it works so great! I have had some issues there were the front desk staff seemed snotty and rude but I just brushed it to them hating their job or having a bad day. In the end my Son excelled and loved his teacher. I do have to say though after reading the reviews we have been there for 2 years and I have never met the principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Ware has some of the most energetic, positive, and friendly teachers I have encountered. Their use of Love and Logic in the classroom was a huge success for my son and my entire family. My son attended Ware for K and 1st grades. His love of reading was developed by the teachers at Ware. He will enter 4th grade next year at his 3rd school since Ware(tis our military life) and I still give a lot of credit for his success in school and life to Ware. Mrs. Bogenhagen and Mrs. Dressman are 2 of the most gifted educators I've ever met. Thank You Ware Bears!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

Yes, Ware Elementary may be the largest school on base. But it stands out. The atmosphere is bright and cheerful. The teachers are bubbly and nice. My kids went to Ware but due to rezoning now attend FRE. Ware had a wonderful events such as the math night, chili night , freedom walk , to name a few. The Principal is wonderful as well! One teacher really stood out at Ware. Mrs Lang ( Now Mrs Dressman) If you can get her for 2nd grade, you will be impressed. She is one of those teachers that really stand out and goes above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

I have two children who attend this school and i love it. my kids get a good amount of attention and they learn alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

I love Ware School. Other than some parents r rude when it comes to parking, I had no problem with my 3 children attending this school. Teachers r friendly and fair. I like when the class was separated in group levels when it came to english and math hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I love this school. There was so much support from the parents and teachers on everything. The tutoring was excellent. The teachers are amazing. My kids loved going to school. They were top of their class. The no violence rule was great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

I spent some time working at Ware in the past, and if you look purely at test scores, it is an amazing school. However, this is all the principal cares about. She is hard to reach, often spending time in her office and not interacting with parents. The reading curriculum is not at all challenging for students- tehy are grouped accordto level and this is as far as it goes. AIf you want your student to receive a good test score, tgo to SWare. Otherwise, look elsewhere.


Posted December 24, 2007

This school focuses on children who are having trouble. They do not help children who are above level. In the end, all they care about is the test scores at the end of the year! The only subjects emphasized in school are Reading and Math (2 hours each) because that is what the test at the end of the year is on. There is rarely Social Studies or Science lessons and there is no homework at all. I think this is the worst school I have ever seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

This school does not have very friendly staff. The teachers are not very knowledgeable about any kind of behavioral and attention problems. They do not offer any kind of extracurricular activities that are age-appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

I'm surprised at the reviews listed here. It may be obvious to some, but the comments below about Ware's principal are more about angry ranting than about fact. The facts (test scores, building 'report card', etc.) speak for themselves. Ware Elementary has some of the highest achieving kids in the state. Parents are welcome to volunteer in the classroom, with PTO, in the library and elsewhere. This is a large school but there is a great team atmosphere. Ware is truly a school where all children (from the gifted to the learning disabled and everything in between) have the opportunity to succeed.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 16, 2006

I've had 3 children in this school for nearly 4 years and have found the entire staff to be exemplary. The principal is occasionally unavailable, but I've never known her to ignore an issue. When she took over this school, the majority of the kids were not reading on grade level...now nearly all of them are. She and the rest of the staff here are directly responsible for that turnaround. She is proud of her school's awards (as she should be), proud of her staff, and very proud of her students. While she may sometimes come across as brusque with parents, she is dedicated and committed to the kids. Isn't that what matters? The kids work hard but they get extra recess and celebration time often. Once I got more involved, volunteering, I began to see what an amazing place this is...I am proud to say my kids attend Ware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

I am very impressed with the teaching staff at Ware, however, each time I have dealt with the principal or assistant principal, I have not been impressed. My children love school are very developed academically, much thanks to the teaching staff. I have brought many issues to the principal and have found that if the ideas or the complaints are not important to her, they will not be addressed, period. She is not a pleasant person, nor do I feel she is a professional in the interests of the children. I am certainly elated that I do not have to talk to her on regular basis, or worse yet, work with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I have two children at Ware. I have to agree with the previous reviewer when it comes to the principal. She is not a nice woman, to the students or the parents. She does not care about the childrens' education. She cares about her schools blue ribbon status and how that makes her look. The children are just a means to an end for her. I have tried to meet with her to discuss my child's needs. The secretary called me back with this explanation, 'She said she is busy and she told me to ask you what you want.' So I was suppose to discuss my child's educational needs with the secretary because the principal could not be bothered to meet with a parent. The teachers that my children have had so far are wonderful though. They truly care about the children and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2004

The school is not parent or child friendly. The teachers are wonderful but the 3 principals, discipline staff, and 7 hour school day are the problem. The principal states that she would love to have parents participate but if you do not agree with how they run the school, you will have problems. The school day is so long and Ware is the only school with one out door break. All other schools in the district have at least two if not three. I have four children that attend this school and this is the first year that my kids hate school. I was told when I paid to join PTO, I have no say in how the PTO works. Only the PTO members that are employees of the school get to decide. Parents and teachers are not included in Ware PTO. This is the worst school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

My two children attend Ware and I am very happy with it. It is different than we are used to, coming from a private school, But i trully am pleased. Both of my children have wonderful teachers. This is the first year my daughter has woken up ready to go to school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

89 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
African American100%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students93%
African American100%
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities95%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
African American94%
Hispanic95%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities95%
Proficient in English92%

Reading

All Students92%
African American100%
Hispanic94%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities90%
Proficient in English100%

Science

All Students98%
African American94%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities90%
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
African American83%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities81%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students94%
African American89%
Hispanic93%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities81%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 67%
Hispanic 21% 17%
Black 14% 7%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6795 Thomas Ave
Fort Riley, KS 66442
Website: Click here
Phone: (785) 717-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Westwood Elementary School
Junction City, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT