Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Gardner, KS

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gardner Edgerton High School 3

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
At 1st we were excited to move to Gardner. We heard so many "good" things about GEHS. Wellits time for the real deal... As far as teachers you have good and bad of course. Overall not too bad. But as far as athletics. WOW!!!! What a shocker. Never have I seen so much belittling of young men from head coaches on the football field. Personal vendettas. Band is interesting. Better than many schools in the area. Bottom line. If your son is really into football FIND another school. If I could go back in time knowing what I know now I NEVER would have put my son through this garbage they call a "team" in GEHS. If it were not for the talents of the young men on the field there is no way they could ever win. Coaches seriously need people skills. Oh yeah. Don't complain to the coaches. Your son may never see the field again.

Gardner Edgerton High School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
My 3 children attended GEHS. Excellent teachers, counselors, and administrators. School prepared them for college!


Gardner Edgerton High School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a parent
Great school, great community, great football team, great teachers.

Gardner Edgerton High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
With so many public schools cutting out the arts, languages, physical education, and extra-curricular activities, this district is still offering and encouraging these classes, in some cases requiring them. The band gets new instruments, the sports teams have great coaches and equipment, etc. The district realizes that a well-rounded education includes more than the five core courses, although they do know the importance of these classes as well and it is evidenced by the 'State Awards for Excellence' they are continually earning. It is for these reasons that I would not dream of moving out of this area until my son has graduated; I wouldn't want to chance having to make him go to a school with less to offer.

Gardner Edgerton High School 4

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Gardner Edgerton High School 1

Posted May 16, 2008
- a student
Some of the teachers are great others dont do anything to help you, and when asked for help on an assignment they say, 'Ask one of the people around you that understand'.(I'm sorry but after a teacher has just finished teaching something to the class, and none of the students in the class understands it there is no way that another student can teach it to me when the teacher is the one with the teaching degree) Most of the newer teachers have their own concepts of how to work out problems and or answer questions, but these are not the same as the text books. At the start of the school year my parents paid a text book rent fee for 9 of my classes including semester classes, I only used a book continually in 1 class. I as a student do not recomend this school.

Gardner Edgerton High School 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gardner Edgerton High School 2

Posted July 25, 2007
- a student
From what I have seen, GEHS does allow an acceptable level of parental involvement and they have a decent amount of extracurricular activities. However, the quality of academic programs is much lower than it should be. Teacher at this school are much too lax and give students so many breaks with theirwork that there is little to no discipline being built within students. They are not being prepared for collage, and in some classes, they are not even being taught the material.


Gardner Edgerton High School 5

Posted August 17, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gardner Edgerton High School 5

Posted July 24, 2006
- a student
i think that this school is a very good place for a student. It showes what life is really like and the teachers are amazing and show students life skills

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gardner Edgerton High School
425 North Waverly, Gardner, KS  66030
(913) 856-2600
Last modified Gardner Edgerton High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gardner Edgerton High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top