Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Junction City, KS
Students enrolled: 375

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westwood Elementary School 2

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
I am disgusted at how I have seen some teachers and a few aides treat the children.Monday Mrs. Allen atkinson got after a little girl in the hall in the meanest way, that was the first sign this place was trouble. Just yesterday morning I witnessed an aide yell at the 2nd graders as if they were in boot camp! My daughter just moved to this school yesterday and she came home in tears today. I have never seen her so upset over school. Her teacher made her eat orange peels at snack and wouldn't let her have a drink...again. The only reason I gave this school 2 stars is because the only decent adults I have met were the office staff. I can't believe these adults are always yelling and mean to the kids and all of these parents think this place is so great!

Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
4 of my six children have attended westwood and i am so pleased to know that the teachers and staff are some of the best in the district.


Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
As a former student, I was thrilled when we moved back and I was able to send my daughter here. She has done fantastic. The teachers and staff are wonderful. I could not ask for a better school to have my daughter attend.

Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2006
- a parent
My daughter had Mrs Allen- Atkinson for kindergarten and we were very pleased. She is an amazing teacher. My daughter learned so much from her. She was very excited about school and learned something new everyday. My daughter even learned her alphabet in a month. We love her. Best teacher ever!

Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended another school in Junction City and I took her out of that school and placed her in Westwood Elementary and the results were excellent. The staff is so postive and friendly My daughter did very well on her state test and that was all due to the teaching at Westwood Elem now she is ready for the Middle School.

Westwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2005
- a former student
This is a really good school. They have a great reading program and also and great After school program(CCLC) thats help students with their home work.

Westwood Elementary School 4

Posted December 20, 2004
- a parent
Westwood has an advantage over a lot of schools,they are lucky to haves assets like shelley kite and cheri (secretary). The school teachers always seem to have a smile on their face. Also, my son being a very intelligent boy has never shown his potiental until attending westwood. I would certainly recommend westwood to any child/parent.


Westwood Elementary School 2

Posted May 19, 2004
- a parent
There is a good reading program. During lunch the children are not allowed to talk, if they do minutes from recess are taken away. May 2004

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westwood Elementary School
1600 North Eisenhower Dr, Junction City, KS  66441
(785) 717-4150
Last modified Westwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top