Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J C Harmon High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

People care about one another at Harmon. Teachers are committed to helping and respecting the students. Most of the kids are dedicated learners coming from excellent elementary backgrounds. KCK is a great, hard-working community and Harmon is its heart
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Overall J.C. Harmon is a great school! The past has defined the school as one of the worst schools in the area, but with a new principal coming for the 2013-2014 School Year, Harmon will be at the top of its abilities. Harmon also has a great Math Department receiving Gold Status at the KCKPS Math Relays 2013. No other high schools were able to achieve such status.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2011

Im a Freshmen for the 2011-2012 school year and the school is not as bad as everyone think it is. Its just that the previous students gave this school a very bad reputation. The teachers actually care for the students but some of the students dont care about the teachers. all the school needs is behavioral/discipline rules and the school would really change!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2009

I just started J.C. Harmon this year as a freshman & I think it is a fine school to go to. Harmon is not a bad school. Students have just gave this school a very bad reputation. As long as you do the right thing you won't have problem :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

I have taught for 38 years in high schools in Oklahoma, Missouri and Kansas. This tenure has included public and parochial, large and small, rural and suburban and urban schools. Harmon does better than most in making an extra effort to deliver quality education, tutoring, and a comprehensive education. There are fewer fights, less classroom disruptions, and more student and family contact than 90% of all the schools in which I've taught. There are many schools less effective or involved, and fewer that do as much to assure the success of all their students than J. C. Harmon High School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2009

I currently attend Jc Harmon, and i couldn't agree more with some of the statements made. We are very underestimated. We can learn all the same others schools in Olathe. We have great teachers and staff. we are getting better academically. We all face different struggles, and they can reflex the way we learn. I am in the honors program and know how hard it can be for some student to focus on school work when they have to worry about family issues. We are a great school that is showing progress and will one day become a school of top choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2008

Harmon is a below average school in every possible way. I struggled for four long years to learn as much as I could because I had plans to attend college. My goal was realized when I went to college after I graduated. As you can see, not everyone goes directly into the workforce after high school. Furthermore, I will never allow my children to attend such an ineffective institution such as Harmon. J C Harmon has a lot of problems that have to be addressed by the administration, teachers, parents, and students before it can start making positive improvements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

my name is d.c. i am not a parent at harmon i am a student. i started my freshman year here this year and it is a very great school. even though i am leaving half-way into the 1st quater it is a great school esey to make friends, great teachers, easy to learn envierment. great place to send your teenages for high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

I am a current student of JC Harmon Highschool. To say that harmon highschool is in the top ten perent of schools in the country is an over statement but I wouldn't bad mouth this school. It is a normal high school with it's fair share of bad apples just like any other high school. Students there try hard to succede from a place with a bad reputation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2006

I am not a parent so I might not have much to say and people might not listen to what I say, but I am going to try and have you know that J.C Harmon is a great school. Yes it might not have the best scores in the country but we try. Yes I graduated out of Harmon in May of 06, and I can tell you, I learned a lot from that school. The teachers there try to teach but when the students don't want to learn then how do they do it. When I graduated in May we had the largest senior class that harmon has ever seen. 189 seniors graduated out of that school from the 250 that were supposed to. I know that this might not sound like a lot but in reality it is. Harmon is a good school and people try there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 13, 2006

Im not a parent but I do attend this school now...I think that the people who havent or dont attend this school right now should just keep their 'thoughts' about my school to themselves. I personally think harmon is an ok school, true it doesnt prepare you for college but your lucky if anyone from wyandotte county even goes to college, so in actuality harmon does prepare their students for their future...Work-not college. Most of the students here know that they have to work probably for the rest of their lives if they plan on staying here in wyco....Its the only way...Harmon does what it has to do to get their students out of here as best as they can...Dont hate on us because we arent as rich and upity as the rest of you (johnson county-both, turner-upity, sumner-upity)....Just remember....Haters never prosper!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2005

Harmon has gone DOWN in a lot of areas. While this school does not have the lowest reading & math score in district 500, it's still a far cry from where it should be. With percentages so low, it's a wonder that Harmon & the rest of the D 500 schools have anyone graduating. Out of the public inner city 4 schools (Wyandotte, Washington, Schlagle & Harmon) (Sumner excluded) this is your best choice and that not saying a whole lot.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

244 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

244 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

243 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

241 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students10%
African American13%
Hispanic6%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander14%
White18%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities24%
Proficient in English3%

Reading

All Students11%
African American18%
Hispanic7%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander0%
White23%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities32%
Proficient in English3%

Science

All Students5%
African American8%
Hispanic2%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander0%
White12%
Economically disadvantaged4%
Students with disabilities20%
Proficient in English0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students51%
African American40%
Hispanic56%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander42%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities44%
Proficient in English35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 17%
Black 21% 7%
White 14% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Steele Rd
Kansas City, KS 66106
Phone: (913) 627-7050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Horizon Academy
Roeland Park, KS



Bishop Miege High School
Roeland Park, KS


Turner High School
Kansas City, KS



Bishop Ward High School
Kansas City, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT