Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

F L Schlagle High School

Public | 9-12 | 778 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

Im a freashman at Schlagle and I hate it there i get bully almost every day. The classes is really loud you can't learn anything. All the students really care about is drugs I hear it every day at school. They got no class at all. And we have no bathroom pass day. All they care about is fashion.


Posted February 23, 2012

i am currently a student at schlagle and i absolutely hate it. the teachers dont care their not helpfull at all. the staff is hard to get to and its extremely ghetto. this school is basically a fashion show. that seems to be the only thing people care about. the clases are so loud you cant even learn anything because the teachers cant control the class. kids curse eachother out all day and the teacher just sits there
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2011

Having recently moved to this state, I have to say that I am highly displeased with this high school. i have found not only racism in the student population, but in many of the staff as well. My children are harassed on a daily basis and the staff does nothing about it, but heaven forbid my children say anything back to those students. When I have attempted to speak with office staff, I have found that I am being treated poorly and my issues are ignored. I plan to go further with this, as I have have found others who have had similar issues. The district should look into the the issues going on at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

This school is awesome!! The teachers my daughter has had up to this point are willing to do what ever it takes to see that she understands and is learning material, they will happily tutor on Saturdays and after school until the material is fully understood, I have never seen a principal that cares as much as Mr Bolden, this man is constantly looking for ways to improve student teacher relations and interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

My child is currently a sophomore at Schlagle. I can say that I am not please with the school. My husband and I both attended Schlagle and it is nothing like it is today. There are no homework assignments, the communication with teaching staff is horrible. I feel they do not care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

I loved schlagle when i attended there... It has helped me in my present...Thank you...God bless!!!!!!!


Posted July 17, 2006

Overall there were goods and bads about attending Schlagle..but it's like that with all things. Overall I enjoyed my few years up there. I do believe that Schlagle doesn't receive all the credit that it is due for. There are some staff and faculty who are truely dedicated to our education....If I was still in Kansas, my child would attend there. From 2003 Alumni
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 26, 2005

'I think that Schlagle is greaat school to go to. The reason why our tests are so low is that students here lose focous on these tests. They don't realize that these scores stick with them their entire life. They get an free education here and costs here are lower than most people would hope for. The students here could be the best in the whole district if they just step up to thier potential. Altough most of them could be the best, they are movtivated to have school spirit except the band and other extra curricular activities. Sorry, if I'm a bit harsh but I'm just voicing my opinion.' -By Junior of '07'
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2005

I think Schlagle is a good school too. The only thing is that the students arent serious at all about their future. Its like they dont care if they gaaduate or not. But, one thing that i can say is that the teachers are dedicated to their job. They try to help but the students dont want to help themselves. They have to want the best for themselves and they'll get the best for themselves but, they dont want it. They play around all day and dont care what the teachers say to them. Most skip their classes and most just go ahead and skip school. Most students here just try to be class clowns but their foolishness is not going to get them very far!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2005

Schlagle in a great school for any student. The staff is very involved, and the students are very dedicated. The principals makes sure that the school stays a safe place for learning. They have many activities that students can get involved in. Schlagle may not be Shawnee, but they still produce the worlds brightest people. Thanks Schlagle!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 21, 2005

Personally I enjoy Schlagle to a certain extent. As far as academics go this wouldn't be the best choice. If you want to be in the best band, choir, theatre or other extra curricular activities it would be the best choice. I think more parents should be involved because when I go to parent teacher conferences the amount of parents there is ridiculous. The more support we have the better the outcome. The administrators are doing well. For the most part the teachers I have are doing there part. My biggest concern is this new program PBS. They have money to buy T.V's and other ways for students to get instant gratification, but what about books. Instead of T.V's pay for the ACT test or something useful a T.V only lasts for a limited amount of time but knowledge lasts a life time. If offended I'm sorry but I am just voicing my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2004

i think that this school is a good school even though people say that it is a fashion show!But that is a good school for your child or children to go. They have very good teachers and classes that most school dont even offer! I like Schlagle!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

192 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students8%
African American7%
Hispanic5%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilities23%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students16%
African American16%
Hispanic5%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities29%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students4%
African American0%
Hispanic5%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disabilities14%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students51%
African American45%
Hispanic62%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities52%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 7%
Hispanic 17% 16%
White 11% 68%
Asian 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2214 North 59th St
Kansas City, KS 66104
Phone: (913) 627-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Muncie Christian School
Kansas City, KS


Washington High School
Kansas City, KS


Fairfax Learning Center
Kansas City, KS


Wyandotte High School
Kansas City, KS


Bishop Ward High School
Kansas City, KS


School for Blind High
Kansas City, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT