Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lansing High 9-12

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2013

Interesting that the post from a parent from April 7, 2008 is still an accurate description of the school today. The school is making it's downhill slide and rather quickly. Check the grad rates, state scores and you will find that this is not the school you want your child to be at. The teachers focus on the "failing" students and will ignore the smarter kids when they need held. It may because they are trying to bring all the students to an average academic scoring as to look better on test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Based on 2011 statistics compiled by the Kansas State Department of Education, 91.1% of Lansing High School students met or exceeded state standards in reading compared to a 88.3% state average. In math 88.6% met or exceeded compared to a 81.5% state average. Federal guidelines under NCLB mandate 100% meet or exceed by 2014 unless a waiver is received. Compare this to 2006 when 85.6% of LHS students met or exceeded state reading standards compared to 58.4% of state high school students. In math the 2006 numbers were 75.8% for LHS and 66.6% state-wide. LHS has improved some, but not nearly as quickly as the overall state numbers. Rather, they have gravitated closer to the state average. In terms of the ACT college admissions test, the 2011 national ACT composite score was 21.1. Lansing High School students averaged a 22.3 composite score on the 2011 ACT, a little more than a point above the national average. In Fall 2011 the Lansing Board of Education announced that LHS would be offering more AP courses than the meager two (AP Calculus and AP Stats) they have offered in the past. What additional courses and exactly when they will be offered is not yet clear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I am a 2011 graduate from Lansing High School and I thought it was a great school! Before Lansing, I went to a private school and my parents had very high standards for my education. My parents ultimately allowed me to go to Lansing High School and the school met and exceeded my parents' expectations. Since the school is so close to Fort Leavenworth, the students, parents, and staff contain a lot of military values. The elementary, middle, and high school are definitely the highest quality schools around. The staff is excellent and very helpful if you need after school help. The athletic programs are superior and the coaches take academics very seriously. Many kids from my graduating class are currently going to Division I colleges. The state test scores do not correctly reflect the student's actual abilities. Some students do not do well on the tests because they do not take them seriously. The staff, however, is working on letting the students know the importance of these tests and they have improved since the last posted grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2011

This school is terrible. Thankfully I was moved to LV district before I could get destroyed as a person. As many of the other parents said - they conflict with your role as a parent. The problem in this is - the state cannot raise your kid. Drugs are a huge issue among the student body - in my opinion - a bigger one than LV (and I'm not saying that LV doesn't have distinct problems). It is not entirely the school's fault - as it is up to a parent to keep up with their kids. However, this is a small town school that should have plently of programs and have apparent active parents who are being turn away. I hope it improves - it shouldn't compete with other schools, but rather focus on its' student body.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

My son graduated from Lansing High in 2007. My daughter will graduate in 2010. Both of them did not have any problems with any of the staff or teachers. The teachers push you to achieve your best. Of course there are teachers that they liked better than others, but that is life. My daughter thinks the music program is fantastic. My son loved the drafting and woodworking classes. So much so that he is choosing drafting as his major in college. Every school is going to have its good points and bad points, but all in all Lansing High is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I have two sutdents at Lansing HS and I have worked there. Accademically the majority of the time your child will get a good to great education. The teachers pride themselves in preparing the students for college. As in any school some teachers are better than others. We have found that there are a few teachers at Lansing that are hard to work with when needing extra help. You get the impression you are bothering them if you go in for extra help, and this with honor students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

The school schedules extra curricular events leaving at 2 am, over holidays and spring breaks. The place no value on family time and attempt to assume the role of the parent. For the area it is better than Leavenworth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

We moved to this area excited about the schools and academically we are happy.However the staff and teachers at this school are not easy to work with or talk to.The front office needs to work on how it greets parents and attends to their needs.As a new parent, this school was very different from the last one my children attended.When I asked questions I was treated as an inconvenience and often the information given was inaccurate.The drop off and pick system does not work.No one follows the rules and if you try to, you risk getting hit by another car and if you go with the flow of traffic you are osticized by the staff that is working that day.I understand the need for a steady flow, however that need should not jeapordize the students that are walking or the other vehicles in the lot.Attitude improvement, ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

This is our first year in Lansing, and we purposely chose this school district over Leavenworth. The environment is a safer and more friendly environment. They have a zero tolerance level in most classes for behavior, which really keeps the kids in line. Sometimes it may seem extreme to some parents and students, but it keeps behavioral problems at a minimum. The academics are great, and the students perform at a much higher level on tests and in competition. The music program is phenomenal for a small school, as are the other extracurricular departments. The sports departments compete in a very classy manner, with good sportsmanship in the forefront. I am very proud to be a Lansing Lion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I used to think lansing was a bit better than lvn but i am having 2nd thoughts on that. Lansing has some teachers that need training in race relations and respect for the students. If the teachers don't want to teach our young adults they need to move on to something else. This is our future generation that they are teaching in more ways than one. We are in the 21st century it is time we catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

Lansing Highschool has an administration which is focused on dictatorial policies and encroaches on parental authority. Their focus is more punitive in policy making than it is on discipline which creates rebellion vs. making different choices. Students are encouraged to assume personal responsibility but when implemented by students they meet resistance and condemnation by the administration. The discipline policies of this district allow student manipulation for behaviorly challenged children and without an IEP there is zero tolerance for creative solutions to deal with challenging teenage behavior. In my opinion, this school, administration and district is more focused on dollar signs than the best interest of children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Lansing is a good school academically, but it also has several flaws. The teachers are pretty good--there are a lot of teachers that have been teaching for a long time. Some less experienced teachers aren't as good. Problems in this school include the attendance policies. People can lie and say that they are sick and get an excused absence or be truthful and say that they had a family event such as a wedding or their car wouldn't start and they would get an unexcused absence and a ZERO on all work from their absence. Something else is that we have the worst lunch menu ever--the same boring old things on any given day of every week. Mexican style food three days a week is EXCESSIVE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2005

The best school, I've only been to one, but thier expectations from us(students), are kind of high, but that just pushes us to do better and we(lansing)have done really good on our assessments(best out of kansas or something like that). I just like lansing,the teachers are usually helpful,some more than others, but other than that its a pretty good school,this is a school that cares about you,so dont plan on comeing to school ready to sleep,do nothing, ect., because it wont happen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2004

Lansing School System is a great school. The district has high expectations for achievement and student behavior. Teachers are fairly conservative, but excellent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

227 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

208 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

186 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
African American75%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities68%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African American67%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities69%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American59%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities71%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students88%
African American70%
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities55%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Hispanic 9% 17%
Black 6% 7%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 Lion Ln
Lansing, KS 66043
Phone: (913) 727-3357

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Immaculata High School
Leavenworth, KS


Piper High School
Kansas City, KS



Washington High School
Kansas City, KS


Muncie Christian School
Kansas City, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT