Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lansing High 9-12
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
They might develop persistence and determination for kids to just make it through it and graduate.

Lansing High 9-12
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
They do not, the staff and teachers are condescending and rude and act as though they are better than everyone.


Lansing High 9-12
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
There are some teachers display racism and bigotry as well as sexism to the students.

Lansing High 9-12
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
They do nothing to discourage bullying but will encourage it by playing favorites. Instead of teaching being open minded teachers will express racism and bigotry.

Lansing High 9-12 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a student
Lansing high School Graduate of 2013. This school was awful. I got all good grades, never failed anything, but that didn't matter. I was quiet and polite, but the teachers/staff/principle were horrible. They were rude, made fun of the kids, I was even put down by my math teacher because I didn't do perfect on a test. The teachers would pick favorites, and then put down anyone they didn't like, the same went for the rest of the staff and the principle. And the dress code? Forget about it. If the principle liked you, you could wear anything(including skirts so short your buttcheeks hung out), and if you weren't one of his favorites then you had to wear things below the knee. He's also a homophobe, but that one is obvious. And bullying? That's not addressed unless the public gets wind of it, then all of a sudden all of the staff suddenly cares. So sad. Overall I feel sorry for any child that has to endure the cruel and bipolar attitudes of the people working at Lansing High School.


Lansing High 9-12 2

Posted March 09, 2013
- a parent
Interesting that the post from a parent from April 7, 2008 is still an accurate description of the school today. The school is making it's downhill slide and rather quickly. Check the grad rates, state scores and you will find that this is not the school you want your child to be at. The teachers focus on the "failing" students and will ignore the smarter kids when they need held. It may because they are trying to bring all the students to an average academic scoring as to look better on test scores.

Lansing High 9-12 3

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
Based on 2011 statistics compiled by the Kansas State Department of Education, 91.1% of Lansing High School students met or exceeded state standards in reading compared to a 88.3% state average. In math 88.6% met or exceeded compared to a 81.5% state average. Federal guidelines under NCLB mandate 100% meet or exceed by 2014 unless a waiver is received. Compare this to 2006 when 85.6% of LHS students met or exceeded state reading standards compared to 58.4% of state high school students. In math the 2006 numbers were 75.8% for LHS and 66.6% state-wide. LHS has improved some, but not nearly as quickly as the overall state numbers. Rather, they have gravitated closer to the state average. In terms of the ACT college admissions test, the 2011 national ACT composite score was 21.1. Lansing High School students averaged a 22.3 composite score on the 2011 ACT, a little more than a point above the national average. In Fall 2011 the Lansing Board of Education announced that LHS would be offering more AP courses than the meager two (AP Calculus and AP Stats) they have offered in the past. What additional courses and exactly when they will be offered is not yet clear.

Lansing High 9-12 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a student
I am a 2011 graduate from Lansing High School and I thought it was a great school! Before Lansing, I went to a private school and my parents had very high standards for my education. My parents ultimately allowed me to go to Lansing High School and the school met and exceeded my parents' expectations. Since the school is so close to Fort Leavenworth, the students, parents, and staff contain a lot of military values. The elementary, middle, and high school are definitely the highest quality schools around. The staff is excellent and very helpful if you need after school help. The athletic programs are superior and the coaches take academics very seriously. Many kids from my graduating class are currently going to Division I colleges. The state test scores do not correctly reflect the student's actual abilities. Some students do not do well on the tests because they do not take them seriously. The staff, however, is working on letting the students know the importance of these tests and they have improved since the last posted grades.


Lansing High 9-12 1

Posted August 20, 2011
- a student
This school is terrible. Thankfully I was moved to LV district before I could get destroyed as a person. As many of the other parents said - they conflict with your role as a parent. The problem in this is - the state cannot raise your kid. Drugs are a huge issue among the student body - in my opinion - a bigger one than LV (and I'm not saying that LV doesn't have distinct problems). It is not entirely the school's fault - as it is up to a parent to keep up with their kids. However, this is a small town school that should have plently of programs and have apparent active parents who are being turn away. I hope it improves - it shouldn't compete with other schools, but rather focus on its' student body.

Lansing High 9-12 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
My son graduated from Lansing High in 2007. My daughter will graduate in 2010. Both of them did not have any problems with any of the staff or teachers. The teachers push you to achieve your best. Of course there are teachers that they liked better than others, but that is life. My daughter thinks the music program is fantastic. My son loved the drafting and woodworking classes. So much so that he is choosing drafting as his major in college. Every school is going to have its good points and bad points, but all in all Lansing High is a very good school.

Nearby schools

Lansing High 9-12
1412 147th Street, Lansing, KS  66043
(913) 727-2001
Last modified Lansing High 9-12 is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top