Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lawrence Virtual School

Charter | K-12 | 1200 students

Best known for our individualized learning plans and award winning curriculum.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

Lvs k12 is the best virtual school for my children . we have been with them since 2010. The teachers and staff have always been supportive .Our teacher Mrs Sheriff has meant a great deal to us & she will be dearly missed! I am in tears right now because we will be leaving LVS K12 !!!! Moving Texas . I have found out that the public school side of Texas k12 can not enroll my children due to not being enrolled in a Texas public school for a year. If youre on the fence ABOUT enrolling your child in the lVS k12 system,,,I would recommend LVS k12 to my family , they would be my first chioce!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

LVS-K12 Has been an answer to our family's prayer! Our son has been in ps k-5th grade. This yr we are doing this-so we'll see how it goes. Yes, initial stages of emails and communications with the k12 & LVS has been confusing but everyone is VERY positive and supportive and nice. We started with independent study and returned, received full refund no problems. Now going to do core curriculum through LVS K12 instead. (I will do our own add on Christian incorporation). Less headache starting out hs as they do all the paperwork for State requirements and keep track of all that, saves me time as I still need to work PT while doing the program too! I highly recommend serious consideration in enrolling with LVS K12!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

The administration was very disorganized and provided multiple, different answers to questions. Slow to respond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The ability to enjoy homeschooling your own children and watching them learn and grow via the curriculum and guidance that LVS provides
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I enrolled my daughter for the 2008-2009 year. I believe our our local schools fail to meet the standards which must be met. My daughter loves LVS and the ability to move through a subject as fast or as slow as needed. So do I. The curriculum itself is wonderful. There is also great support from the Education Specialists. Student progress is tracked online daily. We could not be more pleased with what LVS has to offer when compared to a brick & mortar school. I am fascinated by the amount and quality of support we receive. The school books and other materials are up to date. I enjoy working with my daughter. I like to know what and how she is doing in school and with LVS this is possible. I highly recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

We enrolled our youngest after our local schools failed to meet our standards. Our youngest loves LVS and the ability to move through a subject as fast or as slow as needed is fantastic and the curriculum itself is outstanding. There is also great support from the teacher through daily email contact, bi-weekly conferences with the teacher/parent/student and daily progress tracked online. We could not be more pleased with what LVS has to offer compared to a brick & mortar facility both for our student and us as parents. There is no wondering how your child is doing or if what they are learning is enough. We wish we had found this years ago when our oldest first started school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

This school is GREAT! Really helps me stay on top of things. Provides almost all my materials at a very small cost. I also had an education specialist at my fingertips. I could call or email her at any time. And mine was TERRIFIC! This is the only way we will ever homeschool! I will never go back to traditional homeschooling. And it is very flexible for different children and different learning styles! It's just great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

The education specialists was available the majority of the time I needed help on a subject or just had a question. The cost is very minimal and there is also a tech support to assist you on computer problems. As one of the parents also commented on the field trips, picnics and parent-led enrichment activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

This is an excellent school for home education. Your child is still a part of a public school, and yet it is a home schooling setting. I love the teachers and the curriculum. It is perfect and fits our needs. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

I am a first year homeschooler and I jumped in with all three of my children; ages 9, 7 & 6. LVS has an outstanding system in place to make it an easy transition for any person interested in homeschooling. The education specialists (teacher equivalents) are superb! I couldn't have been happier with the school. The curriculum is excellent. I feel it challenged my children and they were able to move forward at their pace. Even with distance learning they strive to create community with field trips, picnics and parent-led enrichment activities. I would highly recommend this school. We have done private school and public school and now have done homeschool. I couldn't have made it through without my education specialist - she was awesome! Thank you LVS for a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Hispanic 6% 17%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A48%
Female 47%N/A48%
Male 53%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Keith Wilson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 785-832-5620
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • K12 curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Fitness club
  • Many other online clubs
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Parent workshops, social media
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Brick and Mortar Public School

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1104 E 1000 Road
Lawrence, KS 66047
Website: Click here
Phone: (877) 900-5602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT