Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculata High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Leavenworth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2012

Disregard everything you hear bad about Immaculata High School. This is a wonderful school full of great and friendly students as well as ready-to-help teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2011

I transferred into Immaculata second semester of my freshman year from out of state. The counselor refused to calculae my GPA for nearly 5 months, the students in my class were very mean and unaccepting of me as a new student, and the school wanted me to retake classes during my sophmore year. The school offered limited gifted classes, and was not accomodating when I had questions. I was paying thousands of dollars to be held back. The cost of Immaculata is a sacrifice, and on top of tuition, you are expected to fundraise and pay more throughout the year. However, Immaculata did seem to have a family oriented feel and the teachers were wonderful. But in the end, Immaculata became a liability insted of an asset to my education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

As a former student, it is the best school you could ask for and prepared me for college and medical school. I am successful professionally, socially, in marriage and spiritually because of the many expereinces I had at IMAC and to this day, many of my closest friends are my fellow classmates from many years ago. I only hope to send my children to a school like IMAC during their high school years. IMAC prepares studnets for success not only academically, but socially and spiritually. I will always look fondly upon my years at IMAC as some of the best years of my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

Imac can't get any better! It is the best school you will ever encounter. The teachers are amazing and care about what you are interested unlike public schools. Even though it is a small school its makes it more comfortable for anyone more like one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

IMAC is a wonderful school. We do not live in Leavenworth, we are a Kansas City family who chooses to send our son here. We drive about 22 miles each way, every day. Tuition is, in my opinion, reasonable. While IMAC may not have all of the offerings of some of the larger schools, the children are encouraged to participate in any and all activities they are interested in. IMAC truly has the best interest of the child at heart. It is a wonderful school, and a family in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

While Imac doesn't have as many programs as many of the other area schools do, Imac is focused on educating a student thoroughly. The cost of Imac is a sacrifice, but an acceptable sacrifice that prepares a student for any kind of college. The fact of the matter is that the community and the faculty understand they are there to educate students to the best of their abilities. Imac instills not only knowledge, but values and a sense of self-worth.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2006

As a former student I would agree that Imac is a very clicky and elitist school. Most parents are fooling themselves if they think that there is any sort of discipline at the school. The teachers, principle, and for that matter many of the parents just look the other way when kids are getting into trouble. If you are one of the kids from a long line of Imac grads you can get away with murder. Save your money go public!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2005

This school is a bargain. People in Leavenworth do not realize the bargain of private education they get. If the school fails, its because parents refuse to make the sacrifices to send their kids there. The current graduating class comprises a third of the school...In Johnson County, private education is much more expensive. Every parent that cares about his or her child can be involved in attending games, music and theater events, and can meet with the teachers on a personal level. Every teacher takes care to follow the guidelines set by the state of Kansas. The school has a reputation as being a great institution, and parents that think they're not getting an education that is worth AT LEAST twice as much as they are paying haven't compared the prices of other schooling. College is much more expensive than high school. Immaculata deserves to house every student parents will send.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2004

This is an excellent school. Yes, it could be better, for it has changed greatly from what it used to be. Things at this school aren't the same anymore... it used to be a school where middle-class families could afford to go there, and the school was one big family. Now, the prices are insane, and... not many people can afford to stay there, all the down-to-earth people had to, unfortunately, leave in order to pay for other things. Don't get me wrong, Imac is still and excellent school, they enforce great discipline, and practice following our hearts. Without Imac, I'm not sure how Leavenworth would be. Imac can't fall apart, they must stay together, and find a solution to these problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2004

Great school! Good for a well rounded college prep education. A place where the parents & teachers care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

Very clicky and elitist. Send your kids to Lansing or Leavenworth High Schools. They will grow up healthier and well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

If you are someone who cares about your child and wants to keep discipline in their lives, then send them to Immaculata. They reinforce the values of family and love. The teachers are dedicated to empowering the students with knowledge not just of the world, but spiritual knowledge as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 17%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Black 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Kansas City
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Shawnee Street
Leavenworth, KS 66048
Phone: (913) 682-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lansing High 9-12
Lansing, KS



Piper High School
Kansas City, KS



Muncie Christian School
Kansas City, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT