Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
This is the BEST school you can find around here. Not "one of". Everything is about the little one. The teachers are beyond expectation.

Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
Everything is top notch at Prairie Star. So many great programs, teachers and the principal as well. We love Prairie Star!


Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
We love Prairie Star Elementary. All of the teachers are top notch and the principal is the best I have been involved with. She has elementary aged kids of her own (not at PSE) which makes her very relate-able. She strives to make every part of the school fantastic - academically, socially, via community service involvement and use of Blue Valley virtues. I can't compliment the principal, teachers, staff and school district enough. It's a VERY impressive school and district overall.

Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
We love our school. From Principal, teachers, down to staff, all are all hard working professionals. Test scores really tell the story. This school can not be matched! Parent involvement is wonderful. The parents here really care and offer up their time to help. The opportunities and challenges available to our children here are truly amazing.

Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Prairie Star Elementary School 3

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
Very little latitude for 'square pegs' in this 'round hole' environment. Teachers are well-educated and motivated, test scores are great and many parents are happy. But, if you talk with parents whose children are 'different' ethnically, culturally, socioeconomically or behaviorally from the norm, many will say it's very difficult for students to fit into the dominant culture. There is a sense of elitism, a culture of fairly rigid conformity and a number of kids fall 'through the cracks'. This may not be different from other affluent suburban public schools, but is still a huge concern in a school so hugely lauded for excellence -- that many kids with cultural differences, learning differences or special needs, find themselves left out/left behind.

Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
Prairie Star is one of the premier schools of the Blue Valley School district. Most teachers have grad degrees. The principal is involved, caring and one of the best I have ever known. The technology in the school is the best you will find anywhere. We treasured our three years there and our deepest regret in having to move was not leaving our home, our friends...it was we regretted having to leave Prairie Star.

Prairie Star Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Ok school. Poor principal. Not a good school for AP level students.


Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Prairie Star Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2004
- a parent
Prairie Star has provided our family with valuable teaching and learning tools for our children. We can't begin to explain how much involvement the teachers and principal give in the well being of each child. It's easy to see once passsing through theses doors, how such a school earns awards of distinctions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Star Elementary School
3800 West 143rd St, Leawood, KS  66224
(913) 239-7100
Last modified Prairie Star Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Prairie Star Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top