Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Leawood, KS
Students enrolled: 672

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
Absolutely, positively the best elementery school in Leawood/OP. Fantastic teachers and staff, and amazing academic results. We are just thrilled with the job this school does.

Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
Prairie Star is like, The best school ever! We have the nicest staff, Friendly and helpful, and it's a great school. The teachers find ways to make the curriculum exciting for you and really want to give you the least homework possible. They offer 5 types of music classes; Jazz band, Regular band, Prairie Star Singers, Choir, and Orchestra. PSMS also offers two different foreign languges at both begining and continuing levels, Spanish and French. They also offer Food and Consumer Science (You cook and sew in this class) and Technology Education (Working with wood, technology, ect.) and Art Class, and Speech and Drama (Acting and Speech class) and lastly Computer Technology (a computer and typing class.) Also at Prairie Star, You get one study hall class for 45 minutes every other day. On select Tuesday's (usually 1 or 2 each month) all students get out of school at 1:10 PM. Dr. Lynn Rantz is a very good principal and has a great balance of strict and niceness to her. If you live 2.5 miles (or farther) away from PSMS, You can get AM and PM bussing for free. PSMS is a very good school for everyone.


Prairie Star Middle School 3

Posted March 22, 2011
- a community member
I agree with the principal reviews. When she hears one side of the story, she immediately agrees and are not open-minded with the other side. This is why I do not go to this school

Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a student
The school's staff and teachers are very kind and compassionate. They make learning fun and exciting. The teachers really care about you and really want you to learn so you can be at your best. They don't just teach you because they're getting payed for it. If you don't understand something the teachers will take time after school to help you. There are plenty of after-school activities like basketball, football, volleyball, broadcast, the PSMS newspaper and more. The students are welcoming and happy. Everyone fits in and no one is ever left out. The learning environment is comfortable. We did the best on the state tests this year too. The whole time I've been at PSMS, I haven't seen anyone get made fun of or talked down to. I love this school.


Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
It's a terrific school with a great staff and a good administration. The administration isn't overly warm and fuzzy like an elementary school. I personally like that because it prepares the kids for high school, but that tends not to go over well with some of the parents whose kids need constant coddling. And the teachers and administration generally don't tolerate nonsense from the kids. Again, this doesn't go over well with some of the parents whose kids are 'misunderstood' and/or 'independent.' I am delighted that my kids are at Prairie Star.

Prairie Star Middle School 3

Posted January 06, 2009
- a student
it's okay the teachers are great but the principal and vice principal can jump to conclusions before investigating a little more.

Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Prairie Star Middle School 4

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
Prairie Star Middle is a better school than its same-named elementary. Principal and staff seem to work harder to promote acceptance of diversity; there is a culture of kindness that permeates all levels of student activity; students with 'differences' seem to be more accepted generally than in the elementary school. Individual teachers take the initiative to support students they see needing help academically and socially. New principal is doing a good job, in my opinion. We are pleased so far after one year there.

Prairie Star Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2008
- a student
This is a really great school with awesome teachers. They have lots of cool programs and ctivities. You make lods of great friends nd they always teach the circulum in a uniue and interesting way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Star Middle School
14201 Mission Rd, Leawood, KS  66224
(913) 239-5600
Last modified Prairie Star Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Prairie Star Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top