Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mission Trail Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 403 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2012

I think if you are sorry to graduate from a school, it says it all. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the excellent principle and the Mission Trail teachers and staff. My only regret is that we did not go to this school sooner. We were at a parochial school that did not meet our needs. Mission Trail welcomed us with open arms. The teachers were the best teachers any of my children have ever had. They were so interested in our child! So supportive and helpful! I almost had to get used to the caring attitude. The principal was so friendly and caring and greeted my child by name. She did not have favorites and she was so approachable for children and adults alike. The kindness and emphasis on virtues at this school shows! I cannot tell you what a different environment it was for my child and me. Leaving the parochial school system was the hardest decision we have ever made - but I feel like a fool for not attending this school with the rest of our children! The education here is excellent. Mission Trail is on a mission to help your child reach their full potential and encourage the kind of virtues we need in society. I thank God for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

Simply put, MTE is the best elementary school in the KC area. My kids have been to private and public alike. If you live in the MTE's boundaries, dont bother sending your kids to private schools. Its a waste of your money if you have MTE to choose from. In fact, Id pay more for my kids to go to MTE than to Barstow. Love the principal. She is honest, hard-working, innovative, brilliant, loves kids (treats them like her own), caring, dedicated,and one of a kind. If all of the U.S. had principals like her, our kids and our country's future would be in a lot better state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

This may be the best elementary education available in the metro area. We have three children (one with special needs, one gifted, and one quite happily the 'norm') who have all done so well at MTE. The new principal is fabulous. The teachers are smart, experienced, and committed to the kids and to the school. The facilities are first-rate (the new art room is incredible), and there is huge community involvement and support. We particularly looked for a 'smaller' BV school, and we have never regretted our choice. I went to Catholic school, and my husband went to a very large, well-regarded urban public school, and we both think MTE exceeds those schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

I have had one child go through Mission Trail and have my second in the 3rd grade there. I have found it to be a very positive environment for them, with emphasis placed not only on quality education but in creating well-rounded, respectful and empathetic kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

I am very pleased with this school and its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I wish there was more diversity at this school. Also, the parents aren't at all interested in reaching out to new parents mid-semester. The new principle remains to prove herself to me as competent. But I sppose you cant have it all. Most other posts here are true, however. Great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

wonderful school Mission trail represents a strong foundation in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

A great school with teachers who really go the extra mile and a very supportive administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

This is the one Great school! This is a caring school! Parents are welcome.Principal is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

Mission Trail welcomed us with open arms when our needs were not getting met at a parochial school. The excellence did not stop there, they continue to exceed our expectations in personal and academic development. They rival any parochial school in getting students excited about values and virtues. We have used nearly every service available and have not found a weakness. This is a very well run and well rounded school that you can send your children to with confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

73 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students99%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 7%
Hispanic 4% 17%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13200 Mission Rd
Leawood, KS 66209
Phone: (913) 239-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oxford Park Academy
Overland Park, KS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT