Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Liberal Sr High School 2

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
The major malfunction seems to be low standards. It only takes a D to pass or play sports."Parent teacher conferences" are a joke. All parents show up at one of two designated times and flow like a herd of animals through the halls to find classrooms and then stand in line and wait for a chance to see the teacher. You might get in, you might not. If this is any indication of how the student body is treated, it is no wonder the academics are lacking. This is strictly a diploma mill, with little thought given to anything except pushing kids through to make the graduation rate seem on par with state standards. A "D" does not get children accepted to college. It might however get a part-time, minium wage job at a fast food joint. However it was rated as a Top 10 school, so maybe I just don't understand the system. Trying out new grading system, homework does not count, only test scores, must take and retake test until passed. In fact you do not have to do homework at all unless you fail the test . If you a fail test you must go back and do all homework, retake and pass test within 10 days to move forward. The teachers only thought they were busy before. Good luck to all with that.

Liberal Sr High School 1

Posted April 15, 2012
- a teacher
I taught in this school. It had some decent teachers, but wasn't doing a very good job of preparing students for college. The students and teachers were not treated with respect by the principal. It you are a parent thinking of relocating, I would not recommend this school.


Liberal Sr High School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
I have two children that graduated from this school. Concerns I voiced staff and administration were addressed quickly. There are many honors/AP classes offered, as well as dual credit classes offered through the local community college. The student population is ethnically diverse, while still primarily Judeo-Christian. The school regularly produces academic teams, such as OM, Robotics etc. that compete at the national and international level.

Liberal Sr High School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Liberal Sr High School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Liberal Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted November 25, 2008
- a community member
I graduated from Liberal High school 8 months ago and am now attending Kansas State University and stumbled across this site and wanted to voice that Liberal High is a disgrace. It doesn't even deserve a 1. It was a joke to say the least.

Liberal Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
This is the worst school my child has ever attended. I am in the military so we have had to move a lot during my career and I regret ever putting my child in such a substandard school. Teachers are very prejudiced against what they term as outsiders. I would reccommend that people who are looking for a place to live in South West Kansas eliminate Liberal from your search because you and your family will be treated as outsiders and never made to feel welcome.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Liberal Sr High School
1611 West 2nd, Liberal, KS  67901
(620) 604-1200
Last modified Liberal Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Liberal Sr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top