Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lee Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 321 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

My son is in kindergarten this year at Lee Elementary and so far I am very satisfied with this school. His teacher, Ms. Gibson, is a wonderful lady who has spent a lot of time working with my son. He has been through a lot and has some ADHD issues that make it hard for him to concentrate but she does her best when it comes to fighting through that. She helps him stay on task and fully understand what he is supposed to be learning. As far as communication that is also something that this school is wonderful at. She sends home notes everyday about his behavior praising him on good days and letting me know about the not so good ones as well. She has offered help and suggestions and has been available whenever I have needed her. She is a sweet teacher and is very enthusiastic with the children. My son also goes to the boys and girls program after school until I get off work and they have been just as wonderful. This school has been a wonderful kindergarten experience for myself and my son and I only hope when it comes time to move that we are able to find somewhere as wonderful as Lee. Thank you Ms. Gibson, the boys and girls club and Lee for everything that you have done!!! Great Job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

This school is absolutely ridiculous. There is no communication from the school or the teachers regarding your childs education. Do not expect any contact from the principal or your childs teachers unless they want money for a trip or some other material item. There is no want to help your child learn there. Just look at the schools test scores they are embarrassing to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

Lee School offers many avenues for communication between parents and teachers. My child's classroom teacher sent home a weekly newsletter as well as frequent emails through the Intouch system USD 383 has in place for mass communication. In addition, the school newsletter is sent home bi-weekly with a one-page update from the principal. My experience as a Lee School parent has been nothing but positive for the last four years. Lee School is also an ACADEMICALLY sound school which continues to strive to meet the challenges of our unique population. Lee School continues to meet the needs of my child and I feel very fortunate that she attends such a well respected school in the Manhattan community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2010

The year at Lee Elementary was really not good. If you as a parent want to know what is being covered and be an involved parent this is not the school for you. The communication between teachers and parents is nearly nonexistent, even when you request the information and meet with the principal. Acedemically lets just say it is far from a powerhouse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

Ever hear how looks can be deceiving? Well that is exactly what will happen here! Education....Low! Programs that require your money and time...High! The school supply list...Ridiculous! The chances of finding teacher on the year here.... 0 TO NONE!!! Never will send anyone in this direction! Wish I would have never had the displeasure of this experience or my poor family! Just a heads up...Mind your P's & Q's & Watch Your Back!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

We spent one year at Lee, during that year I was a kindergarten mom and also PTO president. We loved it and wish we could go back but thats what being in the military is like. They are getting plans started for the renovations that will be starting next year. We never had problems at Lee, Dr. Kole is the principal and she is very good with the kids and the office staff is friendly and helpful and the teachers are great, anyone would be fortunate to attend Lee and associate with the great people there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

We move here from the east coast, not knowing anything about the public schools in Manhattan, KS. We enrolled our child in a private school, come to find out the USD 383 school system were excellent schools. So we enroll our child at Lee Elementary, he is doing very well in all his classes. It don't matter private or public schools, there will always be bullies in the schools. We don't live in a prefect world, but at least Lee Elemantary do their best to help their students that enroll there. Lee Elemantary is an excellent public school compared to some of the schools, we've seen in the U.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Lee school has been a good school for my kids. My son had some issues with bullying but his teacher and the principal were very involved with my concerns and we never had problems since. I specifically like the diversity in cultures Lee represents in their students, my kids have the opportunity to meet classmates from different countries and come home telling me about it. The teachers my kids have seem to enjoy teaching and really care about my kids' progress. I gave Lee a four-star only because the facilities seem a bit out-dated but this in no way reflects badly nor does it compromise learning. Keep up the good work LEE Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Lee School has great teachers, wonderfully small class sizes, good test scores, and a nice socioeconomic mix. We've had no complaints!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

My two sons have been going to Lee school. I used to contact Lee through e-mail about one of my concerns. Principal Kole personally called me and worked things out for my children. Lee has wonderful music, art, sports classes and fun extracurricular activities. One of my sons learned to read early. His teacher set up little groups for students who are advanced to read extra materials and learn extra vocabularies. The whole school works together to help my children succeed is what I see. I know not all teachers are as devoted or proactive as I would like to see. But it is also my job as a parent to make sure my kids are making the progress I hope they are making by communicating with their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I agree with the first comment. Lee is a wonderful school. It's unfortunate that the second comment person has had trouble, but based on the spelling errors in the comment, perhaps her child is not as academically advanced as she would like to think. Don't judge the school on either comment; meet the principal, the teachers, and the students, and judge for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

We have had children at Lee since 1994 and have nothing but good things to say. The principal is completely involved in the students' success, knowing each child individually, by name. We have been involved in the PTO and have found Lee to have wonderful parent volunteers. The socioeconomic background at Lee varies from upper middle class familes to international students' children from many countries. Currently (2005) there are students from America, Japan, China, Korea, Russia, France, Germany, Mexico, and probably many others at Lee. Nearly all of the classroom teachers are ESL certified as well, and the ESL students are quickly integrated into the classrooms. The students are incredibly open an accepting of each other--it's an ideal place to send your child to learn about the world! Academically, Lee is always one of the top performing elementary schools in Manhattan, exceeding the state test scores every year. No complaints!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

We moved her last year, when our daughter was in 1st grade. The school is way behind other states academically. Our daughter is very advanced for 1st grade and no consideration was given to her. Attention is given to students who are having 'trouble' in school. There is ALOT of bullying at this school as well, and again, nothing is done until it comes to the point of the parent going to the school numerous times during the week. I would not recommend this school to anyone who's child is excelling academicaly, it will definetly put them behind. Anyone know a good school in Manhattan?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

34 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

22 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
86%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English100%

Reading

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English90%

Science

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 67%
Hispanic 15% 17%
Black 11% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Lee St
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: (785) 587-2050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT