Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marlatt Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
My son was a kindergardener this year at Marlatt and we couldn't have been happier! We ere considering moving, but now I won't move into another district!

Marlatt Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
Love this school, very welcoming... The principal was very helpful to us. The teachers are amazing...They are the best school ever.


Marlatt Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
All four of my children went to Marlatt and loved their experience there.

Marlatt Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My son went through Marlatt and had a wonderful experience. He and another friend of his were very smart, both now attending colleges ranked in the top #5 percent of the nation. What always struck me was that by and large no one gave him a hard time about being so smart. He really was one of the gang which I so appreciated. Smart kids, along the way, make a decision to continue that journey or they choose to hide it and become part of the average to fit in. At Marlatt he could do both, he could be smart and he could fit in. Thank you to the wonderful teachers and staff at Marlatt.

Marlatt Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
I write as a parent and as the local art museum educator. This is a great school with some special extras. The PTO runs the only elementary school science fair in the district and an International Week. The art and music program are very good with lots of music theory and art history included. The arts teachers help with great integrated programs like the Westward Ho musical. The school also provides academically based field trips to the Inscent Zoo, history museums, science centers, and the art museum with attention to state education standards. Children are NOT treated the same. There is a good remedial reading and math program, two social workers - one who addresses the special issues of Military children, and an excellent gifted teacher. From experience I can tell you that special needs are identified early.


Marlatt Elementary School 2

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
Teachers treat all students alike. The good ones tend to get very bored! It is a waste of time for the good ones.

Marlatt Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Marlatt Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2005
- a parent
Marlatt is like a small, caring community. The teachers are top-notch and communicative with the parents. I've had 3 sons at this school, and they have all had positive experiences. Any problems that have come up, the staff has been very supportive/cooperative.There is a real mix of socio-economic backgrounds, which is a great asset to my children -- there is not as much 'clickiness' as there is in other K-6 schools in Manhattan. (Only disappointment?: Their music/art classes are not very academic, seems to be more a waste of time rather than some real learning going on. We came from MN where my oldest/1st grader was already learning the names of major artists and types of art.) The principal is new this year, but so far she seems really good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marlatt Elementary School
2715 Hobbs, Manhattan, KS  66502
(785) 587-2060
Last modified Marlatt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marlatt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top