Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manhattan High School West/East Campus

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 59 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2010

MHS is located 4 blocks from a University., and uses many KSU resources. The children of KSU Faculty attend this high school. For that reason it is one of the most multicultural places in the state, and can be one of the most academically challenging. It has many Advanced Placement Classes, allowing students to complete a year of University prior to graduation. It is a large school of 2000 students, Freshman in another building down the street and grades 10 - 12 in a facility being renovated. The school has sent many students to Harvard, Yale, and Stanford; surprising because most Ivy League students are from private schools. 70% of students move on to college. The University has about 25, 000 students, while the town has only another 30,000. If a family is focused on progression to University, this is the place. If the focus is elsewhere, it can be hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

I recently graduated from MHS this year. I can honestly say it is nowhere equivalent to my last school. Although I only attended Manhattan for my last two years, I saw enough to know it was no place I would want to send my kids in the future. They certainly do have some excellent and inspiring educators who really do go unappreciated, but in the field of discipline lies a whole nother story. I saw so many kids who were constantly in trouble and constantly fighting. They would be suspended for one day and then be back at school the next. I feel like Manhattan tries to pride itself on being able to say 'we have the best sports program in the state and we also have the best students in the state because no one fails.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

I graduated from Manhattan High School in 2007, and I loved it. It is true that the building drastically needs to be re-done, but besides that I believe that the quality of education I recieved at MHS has prepared me to enter a prestigious college and succeed. As stated in other reviews, some of the teachers I had during my four years were outstanding, but others were not necessarily up to par. This can be found in almost any school district however. The culture and environment of the school is varied, because this is the only high school in a town of around 50,000 residents all demographics are represented. Throughout my schooling, I got to be friends with people of different races, ethnicities, religions, and socioeconomic statuses than myself. I do not think that MHS has any problems that are not found at any other 'typical' high school. I recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

I attended MHS all four years of my high school. While the facilities are definitely not where they should be in terms of maintenance, the actual academics are excellent. From the '09 graduating class, there are 5 National Merit Scholar finalists- which is incredibly impressive by any measure of success. There are teachers who do not take their positions as seriously as they should, but most teachers do a great job of teaching students and trying to help them meet their potential. In my experience, the faculty have also all been very helpful. The student body is large enough that any individual who makes an attempt to find a place to fit in will succeed. The Debate/Forensics program has been very strong for the last several years, as have been the Fine Arts departments. As of this year, there are 14 AP courses offered.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

This is a truely great school. There are so many different classes and the teachers really care....
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

I've read the other reviews and wonder if the parents heads are under a rock. This high school is a disgrace and the Manhattan/Ogden School district and Board should be ashamed of themselves. The facility is a disaster area, asbestos, bathrooms that should be condemned, a smell when you enter the building that begs the question, 'what are our children breathing in?', classrooms that haven't been maintained or updated since the school was built and a lack of resources that is unbelievable. Things are relative, because if anyone thinks this school is all it can be, then they haven't stepped out of Manhattan in some time. Academically speaking, it's hit or miss. For example, my child has an honors English class that the teacher rarely shows up to. UGH! I would steer anyone asking, away from this pit of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

I would not want my child to go to this school problems are so bad I pulled my children out of this district due to the problems
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Very good school, nice school, lovely school, challenging school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 9, 2006

As a former student of Manhattan High, I would just like to say to all parents out their that this is a great place to send your kids. I learned so much their, the teachers are great and the east and west campus are both very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

Great school; wonderful drama and art curriculum, great support for students with special needs. Lots of parent involvement. Two campuses, with 9th grade alone and 10-12 on another campus helps students transition from middle school to hight school well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

My son is a 10th grade african-American who attends Manhattan High. He is constantly tormented by other snobby students. We are a 'Lower Class' family, and he is reminded of it every day by stuck up kids who constantly made fun of. We talked to the administration, and sadly they did nothing. I am very sorry to say, this is the worst school in Kansas. My son was attending Junction City High School and loved it. I would rather my child go there any day. Please take my advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2005

Although Manhattan High is a large school and crowding is an issue, the large size also allows for an enormous number of oppportunities both in and out of the classroom. Although some children don't thrive in this large environment, most do well. My own son is a very timid, shy fellow, yet he has certainly found his niche. Band program is awesome and has helped him tremendously, as have several clubs he has joined and become an officer for. Leadership opportunities abound. Academically, classes are offered which range from remedial to advanced (many AP classes). Many electives and extracurriculars you wouldn't find in a smaller school. Teachers vary from outstanding to so-so, but we've not had any truly bad ones. Part of life is learning to deal with all sorts of people - that includes teachers! Overall, I feel my son is lucky to be at Manhattan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The school is entirely too large. Efforts to create two schools have been thwarted because of a desire to keep the school ranking high in sports. I feel sports is an important part of high school, but student well being and an enviornment for learning should be the first priority. It has been known for a long time that over crowding creates all kinds of social problems that lead to difficulties in many areas including learning. Any one who has taken Psychology 101 learns that from the experiment with overcrowding rats, but we have yet tried to apply this to our school. There are many wonderful classes taught, but many of the students are so overwhelmed by the size of the school that they cannot fully appreciate them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

488 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

485 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

442 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

468 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

429 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American75%
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnic88%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities91%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African American86%
Hispanic93%
Multi-ethnic90%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander100%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities93%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American70%
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnic81%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander93%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities67%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students80%
African American70%
Hispanic78%
Multi-ethnic69%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander88%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities40%
Proficient in English30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 67%
Hispanic 8% 17%
Black 7% 7%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Poyntz Ave.
Manhattan, KS 66502
Website: Click here
Phone: (785) 587-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Bible Academy
Manhattan, KS





St. Xavier Catholic School
Junction City, KS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT