Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Frank V Bergman Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Yes, I have reviewed before but, I wanted to one more time. The ore I know about Bergman, the more I like! Especially the after school program BLAST ... amazing, affordable, and such a great experience for my daughter.. Each day is a different "theme" one day she'll be involved in something *sciency*, the next, reading, the next day a P.E. type activity, etc. She loves it and has a chance to make even more friends because of the kids being able to mingle more than during the regular school day. Great teachers and assistants at Bergman! I am so happy we were placed here for her 1st grade year!

Frank V Bergman Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely impressed by the office staff and facilities at Bergman! My daughter loves it, too.


Frank V Bergman Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
Bergman is a fantastic school all around. We moved from out-of-state to Bergman this year and could not have been more pleased with our daughter's experience here. The principal is hands-on, approachable, and passionate about the students. Our daughter's teacher was wonderful and the best teacher we have ever encountered - very loving and nurturing while still pushing all students to excel. The school s academic standards are very high; in particular, last year the whole school had a big campaign to emphasize math. The after-school program is *excellent* - a very involved director, child care workers that love the kids, lots of activities, and great field trips on the days when Bergman is out of session. We also love the emphasis that Bergman places on respect and tolerance of ALL students. Overall, we feel so fortunate that our daughter is able to attend Bergman and would very highly recommend this school.

Frank V Bergman Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
Both of our kids went to Bergman for K-6 and we love the school. Our daughter is in 6th grade this year and even though we moved to a different part of town this past summer we kept her in Bergman this year. The teachers and staff are very friendly and always responsive to our needs. The teachers have been rigorous and excellent. The principal is energetic and knows all the kids by name. Some people who have written reviews here sound like they are unhappy with Manhattan in general. From our point of view we had nothing but great experiences at Bergman.

Frank V Bergman Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This is an outstanding school with a committed group of professionals. I appreciate how the entire team works together to challenge those who are blessed with resources and/or talents while reaching to to those with needs both financially and educationally . This school is the best place to prepare my chidl for success in life and to peacefully co-exisist with other who may or may not be like her in race, creed, or culture. The principal always signs off on her newletter ( which come home in the backpack in is sent out to my electronic mailbox every week) 'Yours in educational excellence.' This committment is obvious in every classroom and on every day. We are so pleased that our child has the opportunity to attend Bergman !


Frank V Bergman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 01, 2009
- a parent
Truely a great school. Open to many students. Great teachers! Excellent afterschool.

Frank V Bergman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
4 of my children attend Bergman and we love it! Teachers and principal are involved and caring. It's a beautiful school with a great faculty and a ton of parental involvement

Frank V Bergman Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Frank V Bergman Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
I write this in response to the parent who feels the military is discriminated at Bergman. My husband and I both are in the military and have been shown nothing but support and respect from the principal and teachers. Not all military children are funneled to this school in this town. However, many military families end up at this school because they are able to meet the need of before and after school care. Kansas State University and the military provide this town with diversity in culture, religion, ethnicity, collegiate and military opportunities. This in turn has a positive impact on activities at Bergman and the attitude of the staff. I highly recommend this school.

Frank V Bergman Elementary School 2

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
Most of the children that attend this school are either affiliated with the local university or the nearby military base. However, these two groups are treated differently at this school and around town. Warning to military families, you will be discriminated against at Bergman. This is sad since military families sacrifice so much to serve our great country! The people from the local area in Kansas say they are patriotic, but they do not extend any gratitude or respect to the military around here. Overall, the school is average, the other schools in Manhattan are less discriminating and more open minded to a variety of family backgrounds.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frank V Bergman Elementary School
3430 Lombard, Manhattan, KS  66503
(785) 587-2865
Last modified Frank V Bergman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Frank V Bergman Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top