Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amanda Arnold Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 562 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

We are a military family and have lived all over the United States. Amanda Arnold was average in comparison with the schools our children have attended. The PTO is amazing and there are some amazing teachers at this school. I would have liked to have seen more technology and a more active administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

I bought a very expensive house specifically to live in the Amanda Arnold school district. I was told that it was the best school in Manhattan and that the education was top notch. This is not correct. The school eliminated any secondary language teaching because the math scores were so low. My third graders teacher does not email nor communicate any of the issues she is having and the school does not send home notes when my child misbehaves. My other child was part of a gifted school but was not "good enough" for the Kansas system until they recognized that the majority of what they were teaching for the entire year was review from our previous school district. Overall there are some great teachers in this school but I am grossly diasppointed in the performance of others and do not feel that tenure should allow someone who obviously doesn't have passion for teaching to remain on staff. This school system seems to be very behind other school systems and while parents claim A.Arnold is the best, after doing some digging I found that it is ranked in the bottom third of the state. I am heartbroken by the effects of this school on one of my children in particular, can't wait to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

We have been at Amanda Arnold for 4 years now. My daughter started kindergarten here. We LOVE this school. The teachers are wonderful and the staff is amazing. We are military and Amanda Arnold is very supportive of military families. They have a wonderful military group program which has helped my daughter through several deployments. Every parent is encouraged to join the PTO and all new ideas are welcomed. They have great advanced programs and also great programs for children who are struggling academically. Amanda Arnold have good leadership and a principal who is available anytime and is always willing to work with any situation. My daughter is very sad that we have to leave this school and so am I. It will be hard to find a school comparable to Amanda Arnold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

We've been at Amanda Arnold for 3 years now and love it here. My son loves to go to school. Not much bullying and great teachers. PTO and parental involvement is amazing at this school. They work great with average and above average kids. They also have a great military kids lunch group and the counselor offers individual support when requested. This school has been a very positive experience for this military family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

If your children is average, then this is a great school. If your child is gifted they will refuse to advance your child because keeping them at grade level increases their state scores. If you are moving from a different area, beware - this school will not honor advanced placement from other schools even though they are part in the military child interstate compact. My son started kindergarten reading at a second grade level and doing basic math. They made him stay in kindergarten. The next year he attended a virtual academy and was given advanced placement into second grade. When I tried to enroll him back in Amanda Arnold the next year for third grade they said he would have to repeat second grade based on his age, regardless of his standardized test scores. I spent to whole summer fighting with the superintendents office and got no where. We bought our house in this district because it was the best in the area; it was the biggest mistake I could have made. If your child loves school and excels then take them anywhere but here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Amanda Arnold is a great school with many challenges for students of all ages. It allows kids to go to advanced subjects and skip grades, a rarity most schools don't have!


Posted May 27, 2011

While I would consider this school to be decent in academics, the support for the children, particularly military children, is horrifically absent. I would say this is due to teachers, but more than that, this is due to lack of leadership from the principal. Unless parents have a historical or monetary relationship with Amanda Arnold, they are not only unheard, but also encouraged to remain in the background. Bullying is a major issue. And parental voice, especially military parental voices, are not welcomed. I personally cannot wait to leave this school. When your child comes home to say, "When can we move?" clearly there is an issue in validation, awareness, and individual care toward students. I would be hard pressed to recommend Amanda Arnold to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I recently moved to Manhattan & choose the area I lived in for the school. Amanda Arnold is a good school as far as education goes. It's not a very welcoming school, Lot of bullying. Locals say that all the schools in Manhattan are good and I agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My son has the best kindergarten teacher ever! He came to this school with a limited attention span...he now sits during circle time, reading time and interacts with all the other children appropriately. His teacher actually cares as well as the special ed teacher! My other son is a first grader and has learned to read! I'm really impressed with this school as well as the faculty. We are totally pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

The teachers are amazing and very knowledgeable. Mrs. Nash is a great 2nd grade teacher and Mrs. Dillingham is one of the best teachers I have ever met. She supports the students in and out of the classroom and helps them keep up and/or get ahead of their classmates. I am glad that my child attends Amanda Arnold and that she has such skilled teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

Bullying does not seem to be a big issue for the teachers or administration, but to the students it is. I do not feel safe at Amanda Arnold.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

49 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities91%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities90%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities85%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities90%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities92%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities85%
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities85%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 67%
Hispanic 10% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1435 Hudson
Manhattan, KS 66503
Website: Click here
Phone: (785) 587-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lee Elementary School
Manhattan, KS


Faith Bible Academy
Manhattan, KS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT