Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ogden Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 233 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2012

No good comments! They are "against bully" ? I don't think so! It's very sad that a small school have big problems and don't do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

I am a military soldier and I'm very dissapointed with this school. My kid is always complaining about being bullying by teachers. I went there and nobody did anything. Now we'll do something about it. Please get to know the school first before enroll your child there. Probably they have good teachers and staff there but isn't everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

My son went to school from Kindergarten to mid-third grade. I say mid because I pulled him out half way thorugh the year. Older boys were bullying him to the point of emotional shut down and when I approached the princple and told him the boys names he advised me my son would have to pick these boys out and tell him from his own mouth about it. It continued and got worse. One boy stabbed my son with a pencil. I discussed this with the pricniple who ensured my son's safety and that the other student had received a deserving punishment. The next week the other student was back in school and stabbed my son again. At this point I had a meeting with the princple and teachers who advised me they could not suspend the student from school because this was not a pattern. When I pulled my student out of school in fear of his safety, the school called me to tell me they were reporting me to Social Services because my child was truant. I advised them my legal council was involved as they failed to protect my child. This principle cares nothing for these children only for accolade of his own ego. The principle is the problem at this school. DO NOT let your children attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

Being a teacher, I expect a lot from the schools my children attend. The principal is wonderful. We had technology in our classrooms way before some of the other schools in the district. The school is inclusive and students are taught in the least restrictive environment, which is the way it should be. It is very refreshing to see that the students accept each other for their abilities and disabilities. Some of the teachers are experienced and some are new. All work together to meet the needs of the diverse student population as well as the needs of the staff. We moved this year and still send our children to Ogden because of the excellent teachers and administrator. The school was remodeled this year and looks incredible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

The Ogden Elementary School and its staff have won recognition as an outstanding school with innovative and effective programs. It has been described by some parents as one of Kansas' best kept secrets. In 2006 Ogden Elementary was one of sixteen schools nation wide to be recognized with an Intel Schools of Distinction Award.


Posted February 22, 2008

This school is set in a very small, very poor community. However, the teachers, principal, and staff are excellent. The school (thanks to many grants) has the latest technology that gives many opportunities to the students. They also have an awesome after school program for children who need a little extra help, or just won't have parents to go home to directly after school. My favorite part is that they have a Lab (yes, a dog) that roams freely throughout the school. He is a wonderful dog, and good for the kids. It gives this school a little extra special touch. We were suppose to move this year, but I refused because I don't want my children to have to leave this shool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Ogden Elementary is one of Kansas' best kept secrets! The staff genuinely cares for each student's welfare and the children love going to school. The learning environment is very structured yet the fun of learning has not been lost. The teachers, among the best I have ever encountered, use many innovations to help each child reach fullest potential. The principal actually takes the time to know each student by name, as well as many of the parents. Parent involvement is encouraged and the school hosts many family-focused activities throughout the year. We could not ask for a more positive, structured, values-based learning environment for our children. The school is one of the top 16 in the country and received the Scholastic Achievement Award for math this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

31 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
88%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 68%
Black 15% 7%
Hispanic 14% 16%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 Elm St
Ogden, KS 66517
Website: Click here
Phone: (785) 587-2080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Bible Academy
Manhattan, KS






Ware Elementary School
Fort Riley, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT