Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 100 students

We offer a truly Christ-centered approach to education!

 
 

Living in Olathe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $188,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

Both of my boys attend St. Paul Catholic School. I can't express how fortunate I am to have the opportunity to send my children to such an excellent school. The small student population allows each child to receive individualized attention while being treated as a person, not a number. A partnership between the parents and teachers strengthens an already exceptional curlicium. Best of all, children are encouraged to grow and learn in a Christ centered environment. I absolutely love this school and so do my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

St. Paul has provided a wonderful, personal, Catholic-centered education to our daughter. The teachers and staff are amazing, warm, kind and patient. Beautiful things happen at St. Paul and what I love most is that our children are getting an A+ education AND taught life skills like patience, perseverance, kindness and generosity. In a world where more and more I see spoiled and mean-spirited behavior, it is a blessing to see the HIGH character of the children and teachers at St. Paul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

St. Paul Catholic School has an excellent staff who care so much about our kids and their futures. Because we are a smaller school, the staff gets to know all of the kids and it really feels like a family. The teachers are able to give the kids the attention they need in their classwork, which has really helped our youngest child. She is my fourth child to attend St. Paul, and I feel very lucky that they have all been able to receive a great education among such dedicated and wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We are new to the area and the school. The warm welcome and assistance we received from the school and parish have been fantastic. They have helped make our transition to a new town seamless. Our boys are excited and look forward to going to school every morning and can't wait to share with us what they have learned during their school day. I am especially pleased with the focus on both sign language and Spanish at such an early age. I would highly recommend St. Paul to any family looking for a great education that incorporates faith, morals, and integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

This will be our daughter's 3rd year at St. Paul (6th grade), and we love this school. We chose St. Paul for several reasons. We wanted our daughter to experience a more individualized, challenging environment, with attentive teachers & a dedicated savvy principal. At her old public school, each yr. our daughter had hit all the benchmarks by Dec. When we would ask her teachers, "OK, what are you going to do for her now to keep her engaged?" they never had a satisfactory plan. At St. Paul, her teachers make sure she is challenged appropriately. The principal, Tonya Helm, is highly involved with kids/parents, and has a fantastic sense of what's needed not only now, but in the future to make sure St. Paul offers a valuable education based on Catholic values. When we first placed our daughter in this school, I was somewhat skeptical & thought it would just be slightly better than public school, but I was wrong. It made a huge difference for our daughter & the quality of her education is excellent. She now feels comfortable participating in volleyball and basketball which she never did at her old school, & she has more friends as well. I would definitely recommend St. Paul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Great principal who is doing a lot to grow the school. Good teachers who care about the students. Great atmosphere for learning and growing in the faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

St. Paul is a dynamic and faithful Catholic school located in suburban Johnson County, Kansas. A school, small in size (but growing), that provides an authentically Catholic education. The virtues and catechesis education goes hand in hand with a sound academic curriculum and are delivered by a caring and dedicated staff. My children have thrived since transferring to St. Paul from public school as a result of the small class sizes and one-on-one attention that is able to be delivered. From special needs to gifted, EVERY child's God-given gifts and talents are recognized and nurtured by the staff at St. Paul. We may not appear very fancy on the outside, but incredible things are happening on the inside of this incredible faith-filled Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

St. Paul has been fantastic for our son. He was in the 3-year-old preschool program last year. It is a great place that infuses Catholic teaching in their daily activities. St. Paul teaches the whole child. The want the students to not only achieve academic success, but moral and spiritual success, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Both of my boys attend St. Paul and we have been parishioners there for several years. We could not have been blessed with a better school or parish for our family! The staff is wonderful and the school has a very family-friendly atmosphere. We would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

We have two children attending St. Paul Catholic school and have had a wonderful experience to date. Our initial plans were to send the children to all-day kindergarten and then move to public schools. After such a fantastic kindergarten experience and seeing how much the kids loved the learning environment and family feel of St. Paul we decided to stay. The Catholic/Christian overlay to everything the kids do reinforces that decision daily as we see them grow in faith but also in the foundation they have for recognizing and and then making good choices that shape the adults they will become. From an academic standpoint, the staff is wonderful and with the smaller class sizes the teachers really do a great job of tailoring each child's learning path to challenge and stimulate. Finally, our principal is such an advocate for the school and the children. She is passionate about Catholic education and passionate about our kids. All of these things together make St. Paul great. If you are looking for the best elementary/middle school, look no further!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

We have been members of St. Paul parish for a few years and decided to move our children into the school from public school this past year. Our children have grown both academically and spiritually beyond our expectations. The new principal is wonderful. The teachers and students live their faith daily. St. Pauls is a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 67%
Hispanic 14% 17%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Black 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Building of Excellence in Reading (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Tonia Helm
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (913) 768-6040

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. James Academy
St. Thomas Aquinas
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

920 S Honeysuckle Dr
Olathe, KS 66061
Website: Click here
Phone: (913) 764-0619

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT