Advertisement
Advertisement

Prince of Peace Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Olathe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $203,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2013

Prince of Peace I have had several children through this school and I agree with the earlier posts that if your child needs additional help or has any kind of learning deficit, the resources and support are not there. Additionally, we feel the administration is lacking in that school policy is subject to favoritism and bias. Paying as much money as we do, we feel we should have a lot more say in change and direction. From my understanding there are more than a few families who have left the school over the last few years and the prediction is that many more will be leaving this year and next. We are in search of a new school that will provide the nurturing environment our kids need to thrive as well as the flexibility and respect towards the parents that are actively involved and would like more of a say in their schools direction, policy, and overall environment. There are many parents who voice their concerns, however it continues to fall on deaf ears. Maybe the higher ups will get a clue when the enrollment drops to an all time low. Shameful that it will take that pocketbook punch to affect the appropriate change that is needed now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I wish I could rate this school as good as everyone else but I cannot. I was extremely disappointed! My daughter has a form of autism and even though the teachers, principal and nurse all said they would work with her they chose to humiliate her and had her in tears everyday. The best thing I ever did was pulling her out and placing her in Olathe public schools. She loves it there and they treat her with respect. She is a 4.0 student and they even have programs for her autism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

Great Uplifting Catholic Education! The teachers are quite good and the principal keeps the ship running smoothly. The extracurricular activities are well rounded and rewarding. My two sons have received a great education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

We have been very happy with Prince of Peace. WE have a special needs student that is getting wonderfull support through the school. As with any school you need to be active in the program and not expect the teacher to be the baby sitter or parent, you must be involved with all students. Our children have found the responsibility that the teachers expect from the students to motivate them, the teachers want all the students to succceed. As to the parent that said it was not worth the ~$10,000.00, the tuition is not even close to that, the Catholic High Schools are not that high per student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I have homeschooled my daughter for the first 5 yrs of her schooling and when we moved to the Olathe area, she joined the CYO and the girls were so inviting and kind that we knew this was to be her school! The teachers are great and the principle is supportive and encouraging! We are all so happy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

The school used to be great, but is slowly sinking. The Director is bitter towards kids and it shows in daily interactions. Several teachers will only 'put up' with the perfect child, and strongly critize the parent and child if anything is not up to par. This school makes the kids competitive since so much favortism is shown to the kids whose parents are teachers there. I must agree with the parents who wrote that this school is not good for the overall well-being of a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

Our experience has been one of great growth and academic excellence for our son. He transferred from another school in third grade from within Olathe. The teachers are very loving and push students to their potential. I feel if you comminicate your expectations the staff make every accomodation possible. Congratulations on being one of the few Schools who consistently meet the Standards of Excellence in Reading, Math, Science, and Social Studies. Congratulations on having more enrichment opportunities for students than most area schools. Most notably the award winning Science Olympiad team and several city champion teams in football, basketball, and track. Come to this school if academic excellence is what you are looking for and the Catholic education is a bonus. How great to be at the best academic school in Olathe and be able to learn in a Catholic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

If you have a special needs student stay away from this school! If your student is above average she/he should do fine. This school turns a blind eye when it comes to dealing with attention deficit disorders. You will hear the same mantra for 8 years 'we want to prepare students for the workload and responsibilities that the student will have in high school and beyond'. Our son has flunked several classes and he is a very bright kid. Also, the grading scales used in all KC archdiocese make absolutely no sense. I won't go into the statistical argument, but simply put, a sound practice is not implemented. If a Catholic education is important to you, this is an ok school. If education is your priority, you may be better served in the public Johnson County School district, which is very highly rated. This school does not merit the ~$10,000
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I love this school, I was going to go here, but it didn't work out, but i have friends that go here and they say its great, I've met the principal and she's nice, and I've met alot of the teachers and they are very friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

This school is terrible. Neither one of my children who attended this school learned to read. I had to hire tutors. This school is behind in math. This school hires way too many teachers that have kids in school--which leads to favoritism. If your parent is not a teacher, you will not have an easy time at this school. The principal is narrow minded.. Do not send your kid here! look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

I can't say enough positive things about Prince of Peace...this is a fantastic school. The curriculum is excellent and the principal and teachers genuinely care about the kids. I also would commend the number of extra-curricular activities available. Again, really a great school and very highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

Great school ! lots of parent involvement awsome teachers, have had 3 children through here. Great parish and school for young families. Classes are challenging for kids and usually test extremely high, well above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 2%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Kansas City
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16000 W 143rd St
Olathe, KS 66062
Phone: (913) 764-0650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT