Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arbor Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2014

I was a student there the teachers were so sweet and the principle there is the best and the most funniest and fun principle ever the staff is sweet and I had so many fun memories at Arbor Creek I will always remember all the fun times I loved field day all so are dance party's as a whole school I think this is the best elementary school I love it so much. The staff has smiles on there face each day. They have good education there and there books and other used items are clean. This school is a vary clean school I loved that it was always clean. I think Arbor Creek is a good school to take your kids to.


Posted August 1, 2013

We have been to many schools throughout our elementary school career with our 5 children. Arbor Creek by FAR out shines them all! Everyone is genuinely seems glad to be there and eager to help students. One of our children had a serious illness. Dr. D (as the kids refer to her) called frequently and even stopped by to see her during her most difficult time. Our children love their school, their principal and their teachers. If you are looking for a wonderful place to call home. Arbor Creek Elementary is the perfect place for students to grow, learn and thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

We moved into ACE's boundaries from another local elementary school because of the reputation and we have not been disappointed. There are so many activities and programs for all ages and types of kids. The teachers, staff and administration are 100% committed to putting 'kids first'. They are such a friendly and caring school where parents are encouraged to be involved. I've taught in many schools and subbed in several as well and you won't find a better one than this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

My daughter attended only Kindergarten in this school. The teachers are warm & accomodating. When my daughter was offered to go to another school for the ELL, Dr. DeMoss, the principal called us at home. That's how down-to-earth they are. Imagine a busy principal on an enrollment day would call anyone missing on ther list. When we moved out-of-state, my daughter not only got an advanced level in English-Language Arts & Math, but also a blue ribbon award. The school lad a good foundation in her academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

My child attended Arbor Creek all seven years of his public education. I must say that when Arbor Creek opened its doors seven years ago, we were all a bit apprehensive to see what would happen. I can say that Arbor Creek has FAR exceeded my greatest expectations for my child. This school has it all. Receiving the Blue Ribbon Award was just the start for this group of dedicated teachers and staff. Dr. DeMoss does a wonderful job leading this school and caring for our children. I can't imagine my child attending anywhere else. We were blessed to be able to be in the Arbor Creek Elementary community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

We love this school! Every staff member is wonderful and cares about the students. It is amazing that the principal knows every child by name and typically knows something abuot them to have a conversation with them about. We love ACE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

great teachers, very nice school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

New to Kansas and Arbor Creek has an excellent staff & principal. New and nice facilities and activities. Spanish classes leave a lot to be desired, though. Besides that, wow! We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Transfered from ACE to Madison Place. What a difference. Kids and Parents love Madison Place. Leadership sells advertising on the back of take homes flyers, every day kids came home with with some one needign money...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

This school is wonderful in all ways. The principal is 100% dedicated to the school and it's success. The staff are all enthisiastic and well qualified. The are so many opportunities to become involved at this school. The children here are well educated, cared for, happy, and safe. There are many choices of extracurricular activities for older grade children. What you dream about in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

My son has been attending aces since it opened and has had a wonderful academic experience which extends from the teachers to the principle. Being very involved in my childs life I have nothing but admiration and hold the staff in the highest regard. The only concern I have is the lack of attention to security on school grounds. An adult or anyone should not be allowed to wonder the halls or school grounds without some type of appropriate I.D. displayed. I have been to my childs school many, many times during school hours. There is a sign in sheet and the staff in the office know me by now but in the begining they didn't and I was never asked for I.D. They have a sticker your suppose to where but don't make you wear it or make sure it's filled out correctly.I hope this gets addressed. We love arborcreek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

This school, Dr. DeMoss, and the entire staff are outstanding! I've never experienced such professionalism & personal caring in one school. The staff as well as the ACE students/parents are very welcoming, caring and passionate about their school! It's wonderful and I highly recommend it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

You won't find a better school or staff anywhere! I am thrilled with the level of commitment the teachers and staff have to the students. They make everyone feel welcome and wanted. Kudos to the staff at Arbor Creek and keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

Awesome school, teachers, principal, and neighborhood! Top notch education! A+ in all subjects and great extracurricular activities. Dr. DeMoss is an outstanding, caring principal. You will love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

81 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander92%
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander92%
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities100%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students98%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 4% 7%
Hispanic 4% 17%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16150 South Brougham
Olathe, KS 66062
Phone: (913) 780-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT