Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olathe North Sr High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2031 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

I went to north and I have had an amazing experience everyone says bad things about north but it has taught me so much. It is a diverse school and I learned about so many different cultures just from the people I was surrounded with. Everybody fits in there and you won't see racism because we are a family "you're in high school once but you're an eagle forever"


Posted May 8, 2013

I have visited Olathe North as a Special Education substitute. Although I have only worked with a handful of teachers, the ones I have observed are some of the best I have ever seen. The teachers at ON are very competent in their subjects, and know how to explain things clearly to their students. They also have great rapport and go out of their way to meet students' needs. The kids at ON are diverse and this is a bonus. These kids work together with each other despite their differences. They all seem comfortable at the school and in the classroom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 24, 2012

Very few schools can say the same things that North can in terms of outstanding teachers, great community involvement and support, and a safe and comfortable feel within the hallways. I would like to say that North may have a reputation and does have quite a bit more diversity, but hey thats the real world for ya. Speaking from a students point of view i would like to tell future students and parents to get involved and join something like one of our extreamly great programs like sports med, which I am apart of and love it and all the teachers in the department, but also join other things like clubs or sports teams because North always has a place for each student, so go out and find where you could fit into a great learning institution.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2012

I attended Olathe North and loved it. It has an undeserved reputation as compared to the "richer" schools in the Olathe school district, but anyone with first-hand experience knows the reality. Olathe North's has character and its diversity only adds to that. The atmosphere and sense of community is in a class of its own you truly can tell that it is special. The teachers are excellent. It is an unfortunate fact that can be said about any school that not all teachers are up to par, but I can honestly say that I never had a teacher by whom I felt short-changed on my education. I can also honestly say that almost all of the teachers I had did go above and beyond. They were passionate about what they taught and about helping their students to succeed. I was constantly challenged by them and given the tools necessary to succeed. The administration, teachers, staff, students and parents are proud of the school and everyone is involved and does their part to see that it flourishes. I would not change my high school experience for anything. I feel that my education was first-rate and that I was well-prepared for life after high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2012

Undoubtably the best school in Olathe....great teacher amazing programs. What more could you ask for in a school.


Posted February 21, 2012

I went to Olathe North and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere was friendly and encouraging. The diversity among the students was great. I really felt like I got to know a lot of different kinds of people and was able to connect well with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

I am a current student at Olathe North and all I can say is its reputation doesn't fit the school. The atmosphere is amazing! You can walk into Olathe North and realize that there is something different about it. There is unity within diversity and a unity between teachers and students. Unlike the other Olathe schools, North allows students to be around ALL types of people. It also has amazing teachers! They all really want to be there and help students prosper. All the teachers are personable and caring, and I know that I, sincerely, care for all of mine. There are issues just like any high school has but the way that they are taken care of between the administrations, teachers, and students are phenomenal. This is a very good school for any student that wants an amazing education and the true high school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2010

Olathe North is an excellent school for my son who is in the Distinquished Scholars program for math, an athlete, a straight A student, and an all around good person. He loves North and is very proud of his school. The teachers are excellent and go the extra mile to teach kids the curriculum and life values to prepare them for post-graduation. The parents are very energetic about supporting the school, and many attended North themselves as students. The administration is very visible to students and parents, and are building a relationship that allows you to feel a connection to them. We are happy with our choice to send our son to Olathe North.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

This school is a wonderful and diverse high school. More than the normal high school curriculum is learned here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

My son transferred to Olathe North to attend the Culinary program. This has been the BEST school in the district. The staff is wonderful and really cares about their students. My son also has Learning Disablilities and the resource teacher is great about making sure his teachers are following his IEP. My son doesn't feel like he is being judged here or bullied , he fits in and loves the diversity! Amazing school that I highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

ON has overcome real and perceived disadvantages to deliver my kids a top-notch education. My children are now at Iowa State and Michigan State and hovering near the tops of their respective clasess. That speaks to the outstanding preparation they got at ON.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Olathe North has helped my child get a better view of the world with its diversity. It has also got my child ready for college with its Sports and Medicine program. But the best part of the school is how many choices all the students have. From the most 21st century programs in the district, to all the clubs. My child was prepared for the real world more than he would have been if he would've been kept at Blue Valley West. I always felt that my child was in a safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My son attended ON as a sophomore this year. It was a great experience for him and he is happy to be an ON student. He transferred in from another Olathe high school for one of the 21st Century Programs. The teachers seem great and my son is learning what real life is about because of the diversity of the students. Not all Olathe high schools have such diversity and seem sheltered from the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

This school is the hog of Olathe's 21st century programs. They have taken all the 21st century programs like the Biotechnology from Olathe East and the E-communications from Olathe Northwest. Along with comming out with a new science program. Olathe North has eight programs and other schools have one if not just two. With Olathe North having too many programs the hallways are too over crowded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

Olathe North is a great school. It provides many opportunities for students. We are looked at as the ghetto school in Olathe, but the fact is we are definantly not. We have great diversity and great tradition. Anyone who is priveledged enough to go here should be proud of North.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2006

This is a wonderful high school. The teachers really care about their students and have a high level of involvement. Parent involvement is also very high. There are plenty of clubs, sports and other extracurricular activities for students to be involved with and all are highly recommended,
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2006

I Loved this school. he staff at that time was very attuned to the fact that they were dealing with teenagers. There was a mutual respect between students and educators. I would not have wanted to go any other place... The extra activites that are available to the kids is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 31, 2005

Anyone can complain about ONHS all they want. Having been to three high schools, this was the best school I ever went to. Teachers were fantastic and actually spent time outside of class working with students. Classes involved lots of participation, and unless something has changed in the past 5 years, it is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2005

I think the student body at this school is pathetic. They are many cliques and social groups and its horrible at the school. Many students dont even care to be there and that would be why there are over 500 hundred kids with at least one F and that is why people are skipping school so much. There is a lot of room for improvement at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2005

I am currently a student at Olathe North. In 2006 I'll be a junior. The staff is outstanding for any school ive been a part of, however the student body, as some one has already said,is horribly pathetic. I say it's a place for rough kids attempting to recieve a good education from a great staff.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

525 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

541 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

500 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

464 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

447 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African American75%
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander87%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities77%
Proficient in English74%

Reading

All Students93%
African American84%
Hispanic86%
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander87%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities81%
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students87%
African American68%
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnic73%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander92%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities72%
Proficient in English56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students79%
African American68%
Hispanic65%
Multi-ethnic50%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander75%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities68%
Proficient in English26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 67%
Hispanic 21% 17%
Black 12% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 East Prairie
Olathe, KS 66061
Phone: (913) 780-7140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kedesh Academy
Olathe, KS



Millcreek Center
Olathe, KS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT