Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heatherstone Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 620 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

I like this school, but I'm mad mad. The rules at lunch are getting to out of control. Come on!! Girls have the opportunity to sit next to each other. Boys don't!!!


Posted November 4, 2012

this was my elementary school and I attended as the first 2nd grade class. This school was everything expected out of a learning enviroment! I remember everything being new and updated (computer lab which was a huge deal in the 90s). The playground was pretty amazing as well (pre-ramp era). The teachers were focused and the learning system was oriented to include each student. Currently I am a a social worker who works with students with special needs and I model a lot of my personal curriculum off of how the teachers taught the integrated special needs individuals at this school and other schools within the Olathe District. The neighborhood (at least in the 90s) was very calm, quiet and family oriented. I could walk or bike from my home in Woodbrook to Heatherstone with no problems. The extensive busing routes were also well regulated and ideal. If I had the choice to return to Olathe, I would have my children attend this and other area schools.


Posted December 4, 2010

My son is autistic and started preschool at Heatherstone at the age of 3 as part of an integrated setting with normal-developing peers and we have been amazed with his progress. His preschool teacher [Meyers] and kindergarten teacher [Apollo] have both done a wonderful job as have their classroom assistants. It is hard to imagine a better environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

My daughter attends Heatherstone adnd we have had a great experience from the class teacher to extra curricular teachers as well.When there was a problem, it was given immediate attention and handled! I would suggest this school to anyone looking for great leadership for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I am a teacher who works at Heatherstone. I have worked in 3 other districts during my career, and Heatherstone is the most awesome school to work in. The staff are truly committed to the achievement of the students, and as I am in special education, I see first hand how teachers embrace children who learn differently. I feel very fortunate to work in a school with such caring individuals. The parental involvement is awesome...without our parents, we could not do the job that we do. Our principal, although new this year, is truly an advocate for children, and will do what is necessary for them to be successful. I am proud to be a part of such a wonderful school and district!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2006

I have a daughter in Pre-K at Heatherstone & she is my only child. I was very worried about what school to place her in. To my surprise, the staff was very reassuring and welcomed me to visit any time and took the time to explain the cirriculum. My daughter loves her teachers and has learned so much in Ms. Meyer's class. She looks forward to school everyday. If my little girl is happy so am I! She always tells me how much fun she has and that is awesome for me to hear. My child is very vocal so she would tell me if something did not settle well with her. She is a smart girl for her age. I am happy she is at Heatherstone. I wouldn't have her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

Heatherstone is a great school if one of your primary concerns is how everything will 'look' for your child. Some of the teachers are excellent and are the best I have seen. Some are not. The principle looks bored most of the time, and is absolutely not approachable to students or teachers without feeling like you are wasting his time. Unless it's positive, the administration does NOT want to hear from you. Special services take an EXTREMELY long time to get going, leaving some students to just float around on their own for months before the school gets services into place. They talk a great talk of what they will do for your child, but then do not follow through, and have poor excuses as to why. Look around carefully before putting a student with any sort of special needs into this school. Bullies are present and not dealt with either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I'm a former student at Heatherstone. I think it's a great school. The principal leadership was great. I had a lot of really good teachers. There were a lot of parents that got involved in the school. And the staff did whatever they could to provide a safe environment. I think this is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

90 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities83%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities92%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Black 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Hispanic 3% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13745 West 123rd
Olathe, KS 66062
Website: Click here
Phone: (913) 780-7480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bentwood Elementary School
Overland Park, KS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT