Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pioneer Trail Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
I think 6 out of 10 is sad! Pioneer Trail is THE National Middle School of the year! Beating out schools from across the nation, PT is proof that test scores from 2 years ago should not be the basis for a rating. The principal, assistants, teachers, and staff are great! They care about my boys, they help them strive for better, and they support them in their endeavors.

Pioneer Trail Middle School 4

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Pioneer Trail has come a long way in the last few years. The administration is strong, the students are friendly and generally well-behaved, and most of the teachers are superior. There are a few teachers who are unsatisfactory, but administration does listen and respond to parent input. The great teachers definitely outweigh the bad. My third child is presently a student at PT and really enjoys the school. There is also a great mix of ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds, which I think prepares my children for the real world.


Pioneer Trail Middle School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
Pioneer Trail Middle School in Olathe, KS is a excellent school. My 6th & 8th grade sons moved here at X-mas break. Both my sons were worried about starting a new school in the middle of a school year and not knowing any students/friends or teachers. Both my sons have been on the honor roll every semester/quarter their entire middle school careers. I was worried about their transition, grades, and meeting friends. The counselor, principal, teachers and students were extremely friendly, positive, and accepting of my sons. My sons transitioned just fine. 3rd quarter conferences were thorough/informative (however the wait to visit teachers were long at times). My sons tell me what they like most about school is that their "doesn't seem to be any bullying, the kids are very friendly, and the teachers are good." I will say that my sons seem to enjoy their teachers and the wide array of elective classes offered by the Olathe school district. What they are learning seems to be very real and relevant. My only compliant is the "Parent Access" system (online grades). There seem to be glitches, a lag w/ teachers inputting grades, and it isn't as user friendly as where we came from.

Pioneer Trail Middle School 3

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
Not impressed i am not likeing the office staff , i am not happy with the pricepal i am not happy with the VP either . They are very cold and do not help the parents of 6 th gradersor even the sixth graders eas in to the big change of middle school. everytime i have called them they where cold and did not help apperntly if you try to give you child a message at the school you can not . they are not concerdit of bed times for kids there "meetings" go until at least 8:00 p.m if not later . They are not helpful . i am not happy with them . I think they need to get a better office staff and an more compasonit Principal and VP they are cold hearted men!!!! The only think i can say that is posstive is the teachers seem to be really nice and on top of things . and Mr. Meyer is a wonderful orchsstraTeacher :)

Pioneer Trail Middle School 4

Posted August 10, 2011
- a parent
I have been very, very impressed with this school. I had heard horror stories and was nervous for my 6th grader to start there last year. The principal, who has only been there for a few years, is wonderful. He is just tough enough but very approachable. The school really encourages academics and has made huge strides in recent years. My child struggled at her elementary (Walnut Grove) but because of the support here made Principal's Honor Roll!


Pioneer Trail Middle School 5

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
It helps the kids so much. andd my daughter loves the teachers andd staff. This is a great school!

Pioneer Trail Middle School 4

Posted February 14, 2008
- a student
A lot of changes have been going on this year, but ever since 7th grade this school has been amazing. The teachers care about everyone. The discipline could be a bit better, because there are still people who get too rowdy in the hallway (and sometimes in class), but otherwise I love this school. I'm really going to miss it next year.

Pioneer Trail Middle School 3

Posted September 20, 2007
- a student
this school usaly gets a bad wrap but is actually great and there are more chances and opportunities here!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Trail Middle School
15100 West 127th, Olathe, KS  66062
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (913) 780-7270
Last modified Pioneer Trail Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top