Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

Green Springs has a small, neighborhood school feel. Parents are very involved; so much so that we've had to hold lotteries for parents to come on field trips and awards ceremonies and other special assemblies are always packed! Our school, overall, has a great, close-knit community feel and we're very happy to send our children to Green Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

We have been very pleased with our experience at Green Springs. The Principal, Dr. Wheat is outstanding with the students. There are programs and awards that encourage good behavior. The school has 350 students so the class sizes are smaller. Mrs. H, the counselor is very compassionate and talented and our teacher has been a gem.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2011

We have 3 kids who have all attended GS. The school does an excellent job of engaging the students. We have 2 gifted students and both were challenged and motivated and are doing great in jr and sr high respectively. Our last child is in her last year there and loves the school and the staff - especially the Spanish teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

My son has always struggled with the social aspect of school. The Olathe School District has been so great at providing opportunities for him to overcome his weaknesses and learn the skills he needs to be a successful student. He now attends Green Springs and is doing great. He still has his moments, but has so many people at Green Springs there to help him through his struggles: The guidance counselor (whom I love), a social worker (whom I also love), and a fantastic teacher. They have all really sought to understand my child and tailor his school days so he can learn what he needs to and have a great experience while doing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

My daughter is a second grader at Green Springs. The teachers and counselor are very kind and truly care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My son attends Green Springs. The teachers appear to struggle w/ challenging the kids. I also view the principal as a power hungry ruler. Her ideas and comments fail to have substance or thought process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

I have had 3 kids go through Greensprings and I love it. They all enjoyed both the social and academic aspects. They were well prepared for the next grade levels. Because of the homework, my junior higher now does not struggle and learned early on about striving for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I considered myself as an observer during my children's first two years in Olathe School District, then as I started getting to know staffs and some parents, it gave me an assurance that elementary schools esp. in Green Springs is a safe and friendly learning environment for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

Outstanding small neighborhood elementary school 2 kids through ans we could not have been happeir with school, staff, programs etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

The staff and teachers at Green Springs strive for excellence. We are in our 6th year at this school and are very pleased with the education our children have received. Extra attention is given to the children who need it and extra opportunities are given to the children who excel (we have one of each!). There are ample after-school opportunities for the children to participate in (chess, Spanish, scrapbooking, web page design to name a few). Parents and staff have worked together to make this school a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Only one of my children have attended greensprings. Helping my child with homework was a chore. They don't take math books home but only get worksheets which do not explain the material or give examples on how to solve problems. Although I and several other parents had problems with teachers there are a few good ones there, if you can get your child in those classes. The counseling at the school is excellent. They have mentoring programs where they bring in high school kids to mentor which I thought was an excellent idea. Unfortunately, the only reason I believe my child had excellent grades was because I was teaching at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2009.

64 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities73%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities73%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities73%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students97%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 17%
Black 5% 7%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14675 South Alden
Olathe, KS 66062
Phone: (913) 780-7450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT