Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ottawa Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2009
- a student
i am in 8th grade right now and im done with school tomorow and i had the best years of my life here at ottawa middle school they had two people i ever felt like i could open up to and thoose two people were mrs.lyman and mr.circle but all staff are very good from counslers to princeable this is a very good school

Ottawa Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a student
I have had the best years of my life here! Great teachers,and staff,and many activites. You always feel welcome and you feel safe and are able to talk to someone if you need to! I would recomend this school to everyone! Truely a great school!


Ottawa Middle School 5

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
Great school, staff and group of students - focus is on kids!

Ottawa Middle School 5

Posted November 03, 2005
- a student
I like the sports in this school. We are doing very well. Although we might have not scored that well on our academics tests, we are all trying to improve. It may be a while, but slowly and surley we will. The after school program H.E.L.P. has been a great help with may grades along with many other people that go.

Ottawa Middle School 4

Posted August 17, 2005
- a parent
Our daughter was promoted from this school this past spring. She had a wonderful experience academically and in the extracurricular areas. Some of the warmest and challenging teachers she has had worked at Ottawa Middle School. They were truly caring and experienced individuals in a middle school format. My wife and I were very involved in our daughter's education; however, I cannot say that for a majority of parents. The school has tried many things to get students to achieve better in the mathematics and reading areas. But, this has been a slow process. With a change in the administration this summer, a more positive and encouraging environment should occur. It is a school of excellence.


Ottawa Middle School 4

Posted January 13, 2005
- a parent
I am very excited to have my son enrolled as a 6th grade student at OMS. I try to attend events that he may or may not be involved in and have so far enjoyed them all. He is being afforded many different opportunities that he otherwise would not have been able to experience at the small rural school he attended K-5. I am very impressed with the administration that I have interacted with at this point. It seems to be a caring environment and the staff (teachers and admin.) have been helpful and courteous. I truly appreciate the after school program H.E.L.P. and extracurricular activities available to my student. What a GREAT experience at OMS. When I look back at what OMS was like when I was there (1982-1985) and compare it to now,I wish those opportunities would have been there then. Keep up the great work!

Ottawa Middle School 4

Posted July 26, 2004
- a parent
Great facilities and new building. Technology is up to date and new. The teachers are excellent but the administration is hard to work with. Overall a safe learning environment and great school.

Ottawa Middle School 2

Posted October 15, 2003
- a parent
The teachers at Ottawa Middle are wonderful. However the our experience there was not a pleasant one. The militant style behaviors of some of the admin. was totally unacceptable to our family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ottawa Middle School
1230 South Ash, Ottawa, KS  66067
(785) 229-8030
Last modified Ottawa Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ottawa Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top