Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Valley Northwest High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 5 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

BVNW is a joke. On the outside they seem like a great community where everybody has a special bond with each other, but I'm telling you it's all a hoax. The students there walk around the halls trashing on people left and right. I'll admit i can become one of those people sometimes. The overall effect of it creates a school body which doesn't care about anybody but themselves. The school prides itself in high test scores and great grades,but never does anything to help those on the other side of the spectrum. The teachers there dont care about the students. There are a select few that do and even some that act like it,but the majority makes out so obvious to the student that they just want their paycheck. They have no concern for a student's success as long as the school keeps getting awards for good test scores. The school is a joke. Don't go there if you can because only the naturally smart survive.


Posted February 5, 2014

My daughter and son are bright kids but have so much homework that they cannot participate in after school activities. Drugs and bullying in the school is a big problem. Teachers think IEPs are meaningless and do not accept learning differences. I know of suicidal kids in this school due to unreasonable work demands and peer and teacher pressure. Teens must be the star athlete or feel failure. Kids are reminded to make good choices, but ostracized or failed if they are testing as Duke scholars but don't fit in. Dress code is not enforced. The good volunteer kids are ridiculed as losers. Students RULE this school. There are no Saturday or summer help for the many that need it. Some special ed kids are bullied or worse, treated as if they are lazy opportunists. Some special ed teachers are better than great and a Godsend. Anorexia is viewed as a good thing and girls brag about being under 95 pounds. Teens don't like dances due to the simulated sex and underclassmen are embarrassed. Overcharging at lunch is a reality and un monitored. Funding cuts hurt this school badly. Parents also wear boot shorts so it is hard to enforce rules on kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Our daughter just graduated from Blue Valley Northwest. We were delighted and impressed with the caring and encouraging teachers at BVNW. Coming from a background of small private schools, she was able to find friends easily, beginning with the fun freshman orientation. Although she never got involved in a lot of activities that was her choice, and she certainly had the opportunity. The art department at the school is excellent with a variety of programs, good facilities and excellent teachers. She developed good relationships with her teachers who were always willing to provide extra help. We had been very worried about her attending a larger public high school and feel blessed that she attended BVNW. At freshman orientation for parents the principal said the school works to develop the whole child (words which could have come from our daughter's previous Montessori schools) and I feel BVNW was successful in that respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

This school puts on a great utopian veneer, but in reality it has plenty of problems. There are so many drugs here that the administration has taken a Gestapo-like approach to trying to control it, unless of course you are a star athlete, then everything gets swept under the rug. Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of great kids, but if you don't have money and the right look and demeanor, you WILL get made fun of. For guys, I suggest you learn how to fight so you can stand up to the inevitable bullying that the administration pretends barely exists, because (surprise!) it's the star athletes who do most of it. Not all of them of course, but the jocks are, well, jocks, and no amount of anti-bullying propaganda is going to change that. For girls, you'd better have the right look or you will be made fun of. Actually, that goes for the guys too. Almost everyone at this school has money, so be prepared to spend a bunch to fit in. Seriously, this school will chew you up and spit you out if you let it. It does have its great qualities, but so many of the students and teachers attempt to ruin them. I would honestly recommend private schooling if you can afford it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2011

I graduated from this school a couple years ago and loved it! The teachers are amazing and very easy to work with when missing classes for athletics. I would recommend this high school to anyone, it was the best experience I could ask for. I formed lasting friendships with the other students and still go back and visit the teachers whenever I break and they are still in school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2009

I am a junior at BVNW and i absoulty love it! The teachers are great here and have the student's best intrest in mind. And most students get the feeling of a family from here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2009

My four children have all gone/are going to Blue Valley Northwest. My two in college have both made it to the honors programs in their respective colleges (University of Miami, FL and Southern Methodist University, TX). They were both very well prepared, and thanks to BVNW began college with many extra credit hours. This has given them the opportunity to take classes that they want to take, and have a better college experience. The teachers were all very smart, tactful, and dedicated. This school is everything I could have asked for and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I attended this school. The teachers are passionate about their job and students. A lot of them stay after hours to offer help to any child who needs it. There are so many options when it comes to extracurricular activities. The student body is quite diverse and very accepting. I loved coming to school every morning. The only negative thing I can think of is that the principals aren't as involved as they can/should be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2008

Great school, plenty of opportunities to become involved in extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

BVNW is a decent school but does not prepare student's for the real world. it has very minimal racial, ethnic and economic diversity. My children who were honors student had a good experience but my one child who needed more help really was damaged by attending this school. Be sure your kids have designer stuff so the other kids will include them and monitor for drugs and alcohol as the student body has plenty of cash to party!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I attended school here. Its a fine school, nothing exceptional, but if you want a decent education for your child, in a sterile and safe environment, BVNW is for you. The classes will prepare you for college prep work, but are not intellectually challenging aside from the English department. BVNW has many great technological resources, but doesn't use all of them effectively. When I attended there, it did have a bit of a drug problem, just marijuana. Most likely a result of bored teenagers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

Overall good school. Mostly good teachers, and good school spirit. Alot of programs for all kids. AP courses very challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2012.

434 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

439 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 72% in 2009.

406 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2012.

427 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
African American77%
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander95%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities76%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students96%
African American82%
Hispanic92%
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander90%
White98%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities74%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American62%
Hispanic86%
Multi-ethnic100%
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander95%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities58%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students93%
African American90%
Hispanic93%
Multi-ethnicn/a
American Indiann/a
Pacific Islander87%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities77%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Kansas used the Kansas State Assessments (KSA) to test students in grades 3 though 8, 11 and 12 in reading and math; in grades 4, 7, 11 and 12 in science; and in grades 6, 8 and 12 in history-government. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Kansas State Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Kansas State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 4% 7%
Hispanic 4% 17%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13260 Switzer Rd
Overland Park, KS 66213
Phone: (913) 239-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Blue Valley Academy
Overland Park, KS






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT