Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Excellent school. My child has seen lot of growth in both Mathematics and Reading Comprehension

Valley Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! Mr. Lange is an amazing principal who is very involved. The teachers are really caring and know their kids. We like that the school is pretty diverse as well. Overall, great school!


Valley Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Reading some posts that say VPE doesn't focus enough on gifted children. I've had a completely different experience. I'm amazed by the things the school has done for our gifted child. Frankly, we're blown away by our experience with the regular AND gifted program. Look at the overall test scores for the school. High 90's percentiles don't lie. Teacher involvement, parent involvement, staff involvement all GREAT at tho school. I've seen treachers at evening parent activities. That level of engagement is pretty dang cool. For the most part, the teachers are highly engaged. We're incredibly pleased.

Valley Park Elementary School 2

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are biased based on ethnicity. Too much racial discrimination. Gifted kids don't get all the tools they need. They think they are an excellent school, that's why they don't improve in some areas.

Valley Park Elementary School 2

Posted April 21, 2008
- a parent
Emphasis on assessment test too much, gifted kids are not getting enough attention


Valley Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2007
- a parent
Wonderful schools and great teachers. Only negative is that they push the kids maybe too hard.

Valley Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
Our daughter's experience at Valley Park was awful. The behavior childrens' behavior in the classroom was very poor to each other and to their second grade teacher. Complaints made to the principal went completely ignored and unanswered.

Valley Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2006
- a parent
Wow! What a school! Since the addition of Dr. Cathy Austin as our principal- we have seen VPE turned into a wonderful new place. She has not only taken care of our building, but the most precious things of all- our children. She loves our kids and takes care of them each and every day! WE kid her about being the 'safety queen'. The smiles, knowledge and fun things she has brought to this school makes it a wonderful place for a child to learn and grow! What a wonderful place to be- Go VPE!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley Park Elementary School
12301 Lamar Ave, Overland Park, KS  66209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (913) 239-7600
Last modified Valley Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top