Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oxford Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a student
I am grateful for my 7th grade ELA teacher Ms. Erker. I am thankful for her because she is kind, helpful, fun, and is always there for me.

Oxford Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a student
The teachers at the school teach their subject in a fun and productive manner, and they always help you when needed.


Oxford Middle School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a student
I feel that this school is amazing for many reasons. The teachers at this school are awesome! They're always so kind and helpful to the students. I love the teachers because they always try to make learning fun! Oxford also has great curriculum. The extra classes we do at school are always educational, hands-on, and very fun. Oxford is a great school because no matter what kind of student you are, the staff and students are always there to help. I thank this school for an awesome 3 years of fun and learning!

Oxford Middle School 4

Posted December 10, 2015
- a student
I absolutely love my school, the teachers are amazing and so are the students. The diversity here is so cool to see, we have kids from Brazil, India, China, Japan and England, it is amazing to see all of the different cultures.

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I currently work at OMS and I'm writing this review to thank the parents and community members that support OMS and all their efforts to provide students an "education beyond expectations." The parents here are amazingly supportive and generous. The job of a teacher isn't "easy" but it would not be possible without the support from home. All too often the focus is on the "negative" experience of 1 individual and I can assure you that those are few and far between. The majority of OMS stakeholders make being a part of OMS an amazing thing. Seeing some of the comments on this review site is disappointing because there isn't 1 staff member at OMS that wouldn't do whatever is needed to ensure every student has a positive experience. Having said that, I know the majority of our parents believe in the school's vision/mission and the staff members. This is why I want to thank them for all they do to support OMS!
Posted December 09, 2015


Oxford Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Great leadership! This school really cares about their students and families too. It's all about the whole child at Oxford. Teachers & Administration go above and beyond to make it a great place for learning.

Oxford Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a student
All of the students are determined to get out of the school because it's so bad

Oxford Middle School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a community member
This school sucks the vice principal is mean the principal is mean if you have kids with good expectations DO NOT GO TO OXFORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Oxford Middle School 2

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with this school, i am African American single parent. Upon my son entering this school the vice principal and counselors seemed to already formed a negative view of my son even though he was a straight A student with no previous behavior issues. I am consistently being called and my son given detentions for everything from accidently shooting someone with a rubber band to he was with a group of boys that knocked a water bottle off a table and hit another boy. I have had the principal walk up to my car while dropping my son off and ask can she help me? Even though he has been going to this school over a year. I could see if i did not care or my son was causing major problems, but i stayed at the school and consistently call. Being divorced is not a crime and i do have to work but apparently being a minority is.

Oxford Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and principals are great at this school. They take the time to get to know the students and ensure their teaching adapts to the various learning styles.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oxford Middle School
12500 Switzer Rd, Overland Park, KS  66213
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (913) 239-5500
Last modified Oxford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top