Advertisement
Advertisement

Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy

Private | K-12 | 248 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Overland Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $302,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy - Excellent teacher/student ratios, caring staff, beautiful facilities, involved and happy students. A much better environment than other schools I have worked for and comparable or better than the excellent public schools my kids attended. BTW - I am Jewish and I am impressed with what I have seen!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2012

They are nationally known to be a horrible school. I am jewish and they are a disgrace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

As a teacher, it is a blessing to start each day listening to students from age 5 to 18 praying. HBHA is a great place for students because the staff works together to make sure that an excellent learning environment is created for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2009

I have been a part of Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy for nearly 30 years. Teachers are treated like professionals, given the ability to design the curriculum that meets the needs of the students and their interets. The staff collaborates with each other on a regular basis, building professional rapport with one another. Students at HBHA become members of the school family, meeting weekly in celebration. It is a very caring enrironment that is academically rigorous and challenging. I am blessed to be a part of Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2009

I have been at The Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy for 8 years, and although there have been challenges along the way, I can honestly say that this is the most amazing place to work as a teacher. Being a small student, we have a unique opportunity to really get to know our students, watch them grow into the young adults that they can be, and continue to encourage them and have an impact on their lives. As a new teacher, I was surrounded by professionals that encouraged me to develop my own style and creativity, while guiding me to become more professional. I am still blessed to be part of a staff that comes to work every day because they care so much about children and the school. I cant think of a better place to teach or learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 8, 2009

My children have been at the Academy since kindergarten. They've each had a variety of special needs, including additional academic enrichment inside and outside the classroom, and accommodations for one of our children who is both gifted and ADHD. They've each received highly individualized attention; almost a private school within a private school. Their academic education has exceeded my husband's and my already high expectations, but even more important, they've both begun to learn and live core Judaic values. (FYI,the Judaic education program has been completely redesigned since the 2007 reviewer's comments.) Their classmates are like family to them and their confidence socially has enabled them to attend overnight summer camps and other social activities where they knew almost no-one, without fear of 'fitting in'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

The environment is the amazing. Some parents believe it is too small but that suites many students. It is a great place to make friends that will last you a lifetime and have teachers will often come back to visit. It is a great school and I would highly recommend it to any jewish/non-jewish family
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

I think this school is a great place and i think that many students can benifit from it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

The Hebrew language program is abysmal and the Judaic education is a joke. The once family-like atmosphere has been substituted with a cookie-cutter teach-to-the-test attitude. This school, however, is not successful in teaching to outside curricula. The utter lack of a school community comes both from the schools small size and plain old apathy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

I enrolled both of my children in HBHA last school year. It was, by far, the best year they have ever had! The teachers communicate with parents and students well and will stay late if needed. They also KNOW my children's personalities and how to best assist them. This is an excellent private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 74%
Hispanic 3% 14%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5801 W 115th St Ste 102
Overland Park, KS 66211
Phone: (913) 327-8155

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oxford Park Academy
Overland Park, KS


Heartland Elementary School
Overland Park, KS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT