Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
We came to Lakewood from out of state when my son was in first grade. At his former school he was having difficulties with reading and did not like school at all. His transition at Lakewood was amazing. The teachers work to accommodate the needs of each child and he was quickly provided the necessary resources to allow him to get more one on one reading help- within a month, not only was he enjoying school, but he was enjoying reading! and has made many wonderful friends. The principal is very involved and approachable. She and the teachers have worked hard to create a safe and fun environment for learning and we feel very blessed to be a part of the Lakewood community.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Our school is Lakewood Elementary and My child is a kindergartner. I love this school and my sons teacher is amazing. Ms. Emmons is one of the best and i could not have asked a better teacher.


Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2012
- a parent
This school should be a 10. All of the staff go way beyond the call of duty. This is such an incredible learning environment. The teachers are amazing- every single one of them. The principal is so involved and the opportunities the school offers are second to none. The test scores speak for themselves. All of the kids look happy, they are engaged in the classroom. These people do what is in the best interest of the child no matter what it does to the budget. It really is ideal and a model for what other schools should aspire to.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 kids in Lakewood, they have been going to lakewood for 3 years. They both love lakewood. I'm sad that they won't be here next year and we will miss this school very much. BIG Thank You to, principal Layton, staff and teacher, all your hard work is really paying off.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
I have 3 children attending this school. Each of my children varies in personalities, interests, and academic strengths. The teachers have been encouraging advocates for my children both in and out of the classroom. I feel the school is safe, challenging, and works to make my children reach their full potential in a positive way. On a personal note, I love that the principal and staff encourage the virtues in the students.


Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has had the most amazing experience at Lakewood Elem. I have never seen such loving and hard working teachers in the country as I have here at Lakewood. The scholastic program is advanced and no kid gets left behind. I can not say enough about all the love and support the teachers, staff, and faculty give towards the children.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2007
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this award winning elementary school. My son went through this school from K through 5th and we only had the most positive and rewarding experiences with teachers, staff and faculty.

Lakewood Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2004
- a parent
Lakewwod is an wonderful school due to the outstanding commitment, cooperation and team work that exists between the faculty, staff and parents. Their PTO is always hard at work making sure the teachers and staff have what they need to provide the very best learning opportunities for the kids. The teachers are more than co-workers, they have a bond of friendship, and a strong sense of responsibility to each other and to their students. Lakewood is a very large school but the students never seem lost. Faculty and staff are very open to working with you and your child to make sure your child reaches their full potential.

Nearby schools

Lakewood Elementary School
14600 Lamar Ave, Overland Park, KS  66223
(913) 239-6500
Last modified Lakewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top